Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Threekingham

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.




  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 623
1861 R.G. 9 / 2346
1871 R.G. 10 / 3353
1891 R.G. 12 / 2851


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Threekingham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter ad Vincula (St Peter in chains).
  • The church was struck by lightening, for the third time, in July, 1870.
  • The church was thoroughly restored in 1880.
  • The church seats 200.
  • The church has its own website: St. Peter's Church.
  • There is a photograph of St. Peter's Church on the Wendy PARKINSON web site under her "Still more Lincolnshire churches".
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Peter's Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2014.
  • Here is a photo of St. Peter's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Peter's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1572.
  • We have a partial Parish Register Extract. Your contributions would be appreciated.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Kelly's 1913 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish in the rural Deanery of Aveland.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms and Marriages from 1572 to 1812.
  • The Calvinists had a chapel here, built in 1839. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In 1891, the parish was transferred to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Threekingham, or "Threckingham", is both a village and parish 7 miles due south of Sleaford and 11 miles east of Grantham. Swaton parish lies to the east. The parish coverrs about 2,300 acres and includes the hamlet of Stow.

If you are planning a visit:

  • The village is just south of the A52 trunk road and just east of the A15's junction with that road.
  • The village is at the intersection of the Roman Ermine Street and the Salter's Way.
  • J. HANNAH-BRIGGS has a photograph of the village sign as you enter from Acre Lane on Geo-graph, taken in May, 2013.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Threekingham which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Threekingham has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • One of the largest cattle fairs in all of England was held here for more than 800 years.
  • The Black Death, which struck England in 1349, reduced Threekingham to a permanently small village with a population of about 150.
  • The Three Kings Inn: Reputedly, a hostelry has been on the site of The Three Kings Inn for centuries. An ailing King John stayed at the Inn during October 1216 when he was en route from Swineshead Abbey to Newark Castle where he died. Three centuries later, on the 8th August 1554, King Henry VIII passed through the village on his way to York and returned a few weeks later. In the 18th Century the Inn was known as the Harvest Home and then the Barley Mow. In about 1737, Dick Turpin's mother-in-law, Mrs Berrys, ran the Inn, and he frequently visited her to feed his horse before he set out to rob travellers on Salters Way.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of the Three Kings Inn on Geo-graph, taken in April, 2006.


  • Laundon Hall has 18th Century origins, but was altered in Victorian times. Home of the CRAGG family for generations.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF089361 (Lat/Lon: 52.911277, -0.382028), Threekingham which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • Folklore suggests that the village was originally called Laundon, but this was changed after the bloody battle fought near Threekingham, in either 869 or 870, between the Saxons (led by the earls Algar, Morcar and Leofric) and the invading Danes (during which 3 Danish kings and many of their followers were slain). What is more likely, however, is that the original settlement or 'ham' was created more than 1300 years ago when the Saxon 'Trincinghas' tribe came to the area near to the crossroads of the Roman road (Mareham Lane) which was built as an offshoot of the Ermine Street to help defend the Carr Dyke (6 km to the east of the village), and the more ancient Salters Way that joined the salt mines at Droitwich in the West Midlands to the Wash.

Names, Personal

  • John de THREKINGHAM was the sheriff of Lincolnshire in 1334.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the North Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • It has also been part of the Aveland Wapentake in 1841.
  • In April, 1931, the parish gained 1,041 acres when Spanby Civil Parish was aboilished.
  • Kelly's 1913 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish in the Aveland Wapentake, as does the current Vision of Britain website.
  • The citizens of this parish have elected to forgo a formal parish council and instead hold periodic parish meetings with residents of Spanby and Stow to discuss civic and political issues.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Sleaford petty session hearings every Monday.
  • Land for the poor was enclosed around 1805.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 179
1841 197
1871 183
1881 143
1891 158
1911 144


  • The children of this parish attended school in Osbournby parish.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.