Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Trusthorpe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Trusthorpe

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Withern sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 647
1851 H.O. 107 / 2111
1861 R.G. 9 / 2379
1871 R.G. 10 / 3399
1891 R.G. 12 / 2606

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Trusthorpe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Peter.
  • The church was rebuilt in 1842.
  • The church tower bears a date of 1606.
  • There is a photograph of St. Peter's church on the Wendy PARKINSON Church Photos web site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Peter's church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

Saint Peter's church

Church Records

  • Anglican church parish registers are available on microfilm from 1665 to 1962 from your local Family History Centre.
  • The bishops transcripts are available at those same centres on microfilm from 1561 to 1834.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Calcewaith and Candleshoe Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Weleyan Methodists built a chapel here, and the Primitive Methodists built their's in 1836. For more on researching these chapel records, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Withern sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Trusthorpe is about 1.5 miles south of Mablethorpe, on the coast of the North Sea. It is also about 7 miles north-east of Alford and 16 miles south-east of Louth. Sutton in the Marsh parish is just to the south. The parish covers about 1,500 acres and includes the hamlet of Thorpe, which sits about one mile inland from the coast.

If you are planning a visit, see:

  • By automobile, take the A1111 arterial road northeast out of Alford to the coast.
  • See our touring page for visitor services.
  • If you get a chance, take the Fun Bus photographed by Richard HOARE in 2009.
You can see pictures of Trusthorpe which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Trusthorpe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Manors

  • By 1900, Trusthorpe Hall was the residence of Lieut.-Col. Edward Foster SANDON.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF510830 (Lat/Lon: 53.322372, 0.265626), Trusthorpe which are provided by:

Military Records

For a photograph of the Trusthorpe War Memorial and the names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the Marsh division of the ancient Calceworth Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish (perhaps erroneously) in the South Lindsey division of the county.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Alford petty sessional hearings on alternate Tuesdays.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, this parish became part of the Louth Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 198
1831 286
1871 348
1891 304
1911 342

Schools

  • The Public Elementary School was built in 1856 in memory of William LOFT. It was designed to hold 60 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.