Trusthorpe
- The parish was in the Withern sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
- Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
- The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census Year |
Piece No. |
| 1871 |
R.G. 10 / 3399 |
- The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Peter
- The church was rebuilt in 1842.
- The church tower bears a date of 1606.
- There is a photograph of St. Peter's church on the Wendy Parkinson Church Photos web site.
- Here is a photo of St. Peter's church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright):

- Anglican church parish registers are available on microfilm from 1665 to
1962 from your local Family History Centre.
- The bishops transcripts are available at those same centres on microfilm from 1561 to 1834.
- The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Calcewaith and Candleshoe Deanery to make your search easier.
- The Weleyan Methodists built a chapel here, and the Primitive Methodists built their's in 1836. For more on researching these chapel records, see our non-conformist religions page.
- Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.
- The parish was in the Withern sub-district of the Louth Registration District.
- Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.
Trusthorpe is about 1.5 miles south of Mablethorpe, on the coast of the North Sea. It is also about 7 miles northeast of Alford and 16 miles southeast of Louth. Sutton in the Marsh parish is just to the south. The parish covers about 1,500 acres and includes the hamlet of Thorpe, which sits about one mile inland from the coast.
If you are planning a visit, see:
- By automobile, take the A1111 arterial road northeast out of Alford to the coast.
- See our touring page for visitor services.
- By 1900, Trusthorpe Hall was the residence of Lieut.-Col. Edward Foster SANDON.
- The national grid reference is TF 5183.
- You'll want an Ordnance Survey Explorer map, which has a scale of 2.5 inches to the mile.
- See our Maps page for additional resources.
- The parish was in the Marsh division of the ancient Calceworth Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
- Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire places the parish (perhaps erroneously) in the South Lindsey division of the county.
- For today's governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.
| Year |
Inhabitants |
| 1801 |
198 |
| 1831 |
286 |
| 1871 |
348 |
| 1891 |
304 |
| 1911 |
342 |
- The Public Elementary School was built in 1856 in memory of William LOFT. It was designed to hold 60 children.
- For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.
Find help, report problems, or contribute information.
[Last updated: 30-March-2009 - Louis R. Mills]