Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Tydd St Mary

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Tydd St Mary

Cemeteries

  • St Mary, Church Lane, Church of England

Census

  • Tydd St. Mary was part of the Long Sutton sub-district of the Holbeach Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
LDS Film/Fiche No. Piece Numbers
1841 0438754 H.O. 107 / 612
1851 0087726 H.O. 107 / 2097
1861 0542954 R.G. 9 / 2327
1871 0839350 R.G. 10 / 3327
1881 1341765 R.G. 11 / 320x
1891 6097677, 3 fiche R.G. 12 / 2567

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Tydd St Mary area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican Church is dedicated to Saint Mary.
  • The church has some portions of the structure dating back to around 1200.
  • The church chancel was restored in 1869.
  • The church was modernised in 1927-29.
  • Nicholas BREAKSPEAR, a former rector of this church, was made Pope in 1154 under the name "Adrian IV".
  • The church seats 262.
  • Evelyn SIMAK has a phjotograph of St. Mary's Church on Geo-graph, taken in January, 2011.
  • Here is a photo of St. Mary's Church taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Mary's church

Church Records

  • Anglican parish registers exist from 1540.
  • We have a partial Register Extract for St. Mary's. Your contributions would be appreciated.
  • The Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City has the parish register on microfilms covering 1540 to 1987 and the Bishop's transcripts from 1561 to 1851 on another microfilm. Parish register printouts are also available on microfilm from the FHL.
  • Check the marriage and burial indexes available for the East Elloe Deanery.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists had a chapel here, as did the Primitive and Free Church Methodists who built theirs in Tydd Gote. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • Tydd St. Mary was part of the Long Sutton sub-district of the Holbeach Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Tydd St. Mary is both a village and parish about 105 miles north of London, about 9 miles east of Spalding and 5 miles north of Wisbech and a mile south of the A17 trunk road. It includes the hamlet of Tydd Gote (part of which is in Cambridgeshire). The parish sits like a cap on top of Cambridgeshire, with a short tail trailing off to the southwest. Sutton Bridge parish lies to the northeast and Tydd St. Giles (in Cambridge) lies to the south. The River Nene forms a portion of the eastern boundary and the South Holland Main Drain a portion of the northern border. The area is flat and marshy Fen land and covers over 4,600 acres.

Tydd Gote (or Gowt) is a hamlet in the parish, about a half mile south of Tydd St. Mary and it lies partly in Lincolnshire and partly in Tydd St. Giles, Cambridgeshire. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Tydd St Mary which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Tydd St Mary has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Tydd St Mary to another place.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF446186 (Lat/Lon: 52.745656, 0.140757), Tydd St Mary which are provided by:

Military History

  • In the church there is a mural tablet of alabaster and marble as a memorial to Lieut.-Col Samuel LONG who died in 1881 at age 82. At one time he held the title of Deputy Lieutenant.
  • In 1927 a handsome lychgate was built as a war memorial, with a marble tablet having the names of the men who perished in World War I.
  • The Royal Flying Corps opened an airfield here in August 1917.
  • The airfield was closed in May 1919 and returned to agricultural use.
  • The field is now listed under the Airfields of Britain Conservation Trust.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Tydd is from the Old English tydd, or "shrubs or brushwood".
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Occupations

  • Woad was harvested and processed in this area until the 1920's. See "Woad in the Fens", Norman T. Wills, published by L.J. Ruskin & sons (3rd Ed. 1979).

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Elloe Wapentake in the South Holland district in the parts of Holland.
  • You can contact the local Parish Council concerning civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to assist you with family history searches.
  • For today's district governance, visit the South Holland District Council site.
  • The parish is also part of the Fenland District Council.
  • This Civil Parish was reduced in size when Central WIngland Civil Parish was created in Noivember, 1897.
  • In April, 1932, the Civil Parish borders were changed by 16 acres transfered to Sutton Bridge Civil Parish and 28 acres received from that same parish.
  • On that same date, this Civil Parish gained 139 acres from Tydd St. Giles Civil Parish in return for 103 acres given to that same parish.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 607
1811 629
1831 960
1841 920
1851 1,107
1871 974
1881 928
1891 837
1901 821
1911 854
1921 1,026

Schools

  • The Free School was founded in 1740 by Dame Martha Trafford, who left £165 to fund it. It was enlarged in 1888.
  • A National School for infants was built here prior to 1900.
  • The parish school, built in 1961, is in the south end of the village and the address is:
    Churchway
    Tydd St Mary
    Wisbech PE13 5QY
    ENGLAND
    Tele: 01945 420269
  • The school has a website, but no family or school history data.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.