Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Ulceby by Barton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Ulceby by Barton

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Barton sub-district of the Glanford Brigg Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2402
1871 R.G. 10 / 3435
1891 R.G. 12 / 2629

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ulceby by Barton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas.
  • Parts of the building date back to the 13th Century.
  • Restorations were recorded in 1852, 1879 and 1887.
  • A mission church was built at Ulceby Skitter in the late 1800's.
  • A photograph of Saint Nicholas is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Nicholas Church (Ron COLE retains the copyright):

St. Nicholas church

Church Records

  • The parish register dates from 1567, but the Bishop's transcripts go back a tad farther to 1562.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Yarborough Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The LFHS also has a burial index for the local parishes covering 1813 - 1900.
  • The North Lincolnshire Library holds copies of the parish registers for baptisms, 1567 - 1851, burials, 1567 - 1920, and marriages, 1567 - 1837.
  • The Seventh Day Adventists had a place of worship here before 1913.
  • David WRIGHT has a photograph of the Seventh Day Adventist chapel on Geo-graph, taken in 2007.
  • Methodism got an early start here. The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1816 and the Primitive Methodists built their first chapel here in 1837, later replaced in 1888. The Wesleyans had a mission chapel at Ulceby Skitter built in 1900. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • John BEAL has a photograph of the Primitive Methodist chapel on Geo-graph, taken in 2007.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Barton sub-district of the Glanford Brigg Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration beginning in July 1837.

Description and Travel

Ulceby is a parish and village at the north end of the Lincolnshire Wolds, seven miles SSE of Barton and about the same distance north-east of Brigg. Wootton parish lies to the north-west and the two Killingholme parishes to the northeast. The Humberside International Airport lies just a few miles due south. The parish covers about 3,700 acres and includes the hamlet of Ulceby Skitter one and 1/2 mile east of the village.

If you are planning a visit:

  • The village of Ulceby lies just north of the M180 motorway between Brigg and Grimsby.
  • Stop in at the Village Hall and pick up a schedule of coming events, or plan your family re-union at the Hall.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Ulceby by Barton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Ulceby by Barton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ulceby by Barton to another place.

History

  • There are the remains of a medieval moat in a meadow near the west end of the village.
  • For centuries the parish held a feast and pleasure fair on Whit Tuesday and Wednesday.
  • In the days when the railways ruled transportation, Brocklesby Station was situated in southern Ulceby parish. Ulceby was an important railway hub, called Ulceby Junction, only 164.5 miles north of London on the Great Central railway branch from Hull to Grimsby.
  • The Foresters of the Ulceby District erected a hall in the centre of the village in 1871.

Land and Property

  • For many centuries, the HASTINGS family were "seated" in Ulceby and were the lords of the manor and principal landowners.
  • In 1872, the Earl of Yarborough and the executors of the estate of Jonathan FIELD were the principal landowners, but several smallholders were also present.
  • By 1913, things hadn't changed much. The Earl of Yarborough (Mrs. Henry FLETCHER of Surrey) and W. D. FIELD were the principal landowners.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TA100140 (Lat/Lon: 53.611003, -0.338767), Ulceby by Barton which are provided by:

Military History

A photograph by David WRIGHT captures the War Memorial on Geo-graph.

David WRIGHT also has a photograph of a Memorial Plaque to two Lancaster air crews.

Military Records

David W. FFELL has created a website to document the Ulceby War Memorial and the Roll of Honour.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Ulceby is from the Old Scandinavian Ulfr+by, or "farmstead of a man called Ulfr". It appears in the 1086 Domesday Book as Ulvesby.
    ["A Dictionary of English Place-Names," A. D. Mills, Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Yarborough Wapentake in the Glanford district and in the parts of Lindsey.
  • You may contact the Ulceby Parish Council regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed (nor funded) to assist you with family history searches.
  • District governance is currently provided by the North Lincolnshire Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1825.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act of 1834, this parish became part of the Glanford Brigg Poor Law Union.
  • Catherine RADLEY established a charity of £5 to be distributed annually to poor widows and people in need in 1842.
  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Barton-on-Humber petty session hearings every other Monday.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 413
1831 694
1841 787
1871 1,036
1881 961
1891 941
1901 865
1911 947
2007 ~1,500

Schools

  • A Public Elementary School was founded here in 1722 as a free school by Thomas RICHARDSON of Ulceby. In 1847, this was replaced by a National School with seating for 200. On average, about 150 students attended.
  • The parish of Ulceby was entitled to send some scholars (boys) to attend a free school in Brigg.
  • In April, 1903, a school committee of six people was formed, with the Rev. Hector MAWSON as chairman.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.