Report problems or contribute information

1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Walcot

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.



  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In an 1890 district re-organisation, the parish was allocated to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 624
1851 H.O. 107 / 2100
1861 R.G. 9 / 2346
1871 R.G. 10 / 3353
1891 R.G. 12 / 2581


You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Walcot area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Nicholas and is built of stone.
  • The church was built in the 12th century to replace an earlier Saxon church.
  • In 1889 the foundations were renewed and in 1907 the church was thoroughly restored.
  • The church was restored again in 1926.
  • The church seats 250 people.
  • The church is a Grade I structure in English Heritage.
  • Robert DANYLEC has a photograph of St. Nicholas Church on Geo-graph, taken in December, 2005.
  • Here is a photo of St. Nicholas Church taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Nicholas the Baptist Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1574.
  • We have a very small extract from the Parish Register as a pop-up text file. Your additions are welcome.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Lafford Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The church has also been listed as part of the Aveland Deanery in some 1900-era directories.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for Baptisms and Marriages from 1547 to 1812.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Aswarby sub-district of the Sleaford Registration District.
  • In an 1890 district re-organisation, the parish was allocated to the Leadenham sub-district.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Walcot (near Folkingham), is both a village and parish due south of Sleaford and 11 miles east of Grantham. Threckingham parish lies to the east. The parish covers just over 1,750 acres.

The village is on the north bank of a small rivulet which eventually joins the Hammond Beck. If you are planning a visit:

  • The village is just south of the A52 trunk road and just west of the A15's junction with that road.
  • Check out our touring page for resources.
You can see pictures of Walcot which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Walcot has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.


  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF060351 (Lat/Lon: 52.902870, -0.425461), Walcot which are provided by:

Military Records

There is one Commonwealth War Grave in the parish churchyard for World War I:

  1. George Cooper COOK, priv., 2nd Btn. Lincs. Regt., age 25, died 3 Jan. 1916. Son of George COOK of Folkingham, LIN.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aveland Wapentake in the North Kesteven district and parts of Kesteven.
  • It has also been reported as part of the Aswardurn Wapentake.
  • The citizens of this parish have elected to forgo a formal parish council and hold joint parish meetings with the citizens of Newton and Haceby to discuss civic and political issues.
  • For today's district governance, see the North Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Bourne petty session hearings.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Sleaford Poor Law Union.
  • In 1871, the poor had three acres of land at Walcot, and some also at Spanby parish, which let for £14 per annum. An additional 10 shillings came from land at Newton. The donors of these parcels were unknown. The revenue was distributed to the poor in coal.


Year  Inhabitants
1801 127
1841 173
1871 193
1881 149
1891 147
1901 129
1911 145
1921 134


  • In 1877 the parish became part of the Pickworth United School Board District.
  • A Public Elementary School was built between the parishes of Walcot and Pickworth in 1878.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.