Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Welby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Welby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • In 1891, when the district was re-organized, this parish became part of the Grantham North sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 624
1851 H.O. 107 / 2103
1861 R.G. 9 / 2352
1871 R.G. 10 / 3363
1891 R.G. 12 / 2586

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Welby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Bartolomew (sometimes given as "Bartholomew").
  • The church appears to date from late Norman times.
  • The nave was rebuilt around 1500.
  • The church was restored in 1846.
  • The church seats 240.
  • A photograph of Saint Bartolomew's church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of St. Bartolomew's Church on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2006.
  • Here is a photo of St. Bartolomew Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Bartolomew's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register exists from 1562 (some sources give 1569).
  • The LFHS has published several indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for baptisms and Marriages from 1570 to 1812.
  • The Wesleyan Methodists built a chapel here in 1866. That chapel has since been converted to private use. For information and assistance in researching this chapel, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Ian PATERSON has a photograph of the old Wesleyan Chapel on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2007.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Grantham sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • In 1891, when the district was re-organized, this parish became part of the Grantham North sub-district of the Grantham Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

This village and parish are just 4 miles east-northeast of Grantham, off the A52 trunk road to the north. Londonthorpe parish lies to the west, separated from Welby by the old Roman Road "Ermine Street". The parish covers just over 2,700 acres.

The village of Welby sits in a small vale. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Welby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Welby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • Welby held an annual Parish Feast. Here is an undated photo, circa 1890, of the men and boys of Welby gathered for the feast. Note the references to the NORTHING family. Also, all the men appear to be wearing white gloves and a ribbon on their chest. Photo provided by Dorothy Wainwright.

Welby Feast

Maps

  • See our Maps page for resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK970380 (Lat/Lon: 52.930629, -0.558358), Welby which are provided by:

Military Records

For a photograph of the Welby War Memorial and to see the list of names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

Names, Geographical

  • In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village name is rendered as Welle+bi, from the Old Scandinavian "village by a spring".
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Aswardhurn Wapentake in the South Kesteven district in the parts of Kesteven.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory of Lincolnshire reports that the parish is in the Winnibriggs and Threo Wapentake.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) petty session hearings.
  • The Common Lands were enclosed here in 1776.
  • In 1780, four almshouses were established here by William WELBY.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Reform Act, the parish became part of the Grantham Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 236
1811 275
1821 236
1831 377
1841 475
1851 481
1861 499
1871 490
1881 390
1891 376
1901 385
1911 386
1971 137

Schools

  • The first school was established here in 1780 by William WELBY. His intent was to teach ten poor children from the parish.
  • That school was rebuilt here in 1869 and enlarged in 1887 to seat 95 children.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.