Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Welton

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Welton

Cemeteries

  • St Mary, Lincoln Road, Welton (by Lincoln), Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1861 R.G. 9 / 2364
1871 R.G. 10 / 3377

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Welton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Mary.
  • The church is a large Gothic structure. It was rebuilt in 1823-4, except for the tower, which had been rebuilt in 1770.
  • The church seats 250.
  • Here is a photo of St. Mary's Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

St. Mary's Church

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish register dates from 1562 for baptisms, 1568 for marriages and 1575 for burials.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage indexes and a burial index for the Lawres Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for baptisms from 1630 to 1812 and Marriages from 1568 to 1812.
  • There were chapels here for the Wesleyan Methodists, the Free Church, the Primitive Methodists and the Reform Methodists. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the North-East sub-district of the Lincoln Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Welton is both a village and a parish 6 north of the city of Lincoln. Hackthorne parish lies to the north and Dunholme parish to the south. The parish covers about 3,900 acres and includes the hamlet of Ryland.

Welton village is very close to Dunholme village. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A46 north out of Lincoln. Welton is about 5 miles outside of Lincoln, just north of the trunk road.
  • Plan ahead for golf. Visit the Welton Manor Golf Club website for more information.
  • Towing a caravan? Visit the Welton Manor Caravan Park website for more information.
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Welton which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Welton has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Welton to another place.

History

  • In 1863, a number of early graves, apparently Saxon, were discovered on the site of an old chapel cemetery.
  • The remains of a World War 2 airfield are just outside the village.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF010790 (Lat/Lon: 53.298321, -0.485981), Welton which are provided by:

Military Records

For a photograph of the Welton War Memorial and the names on it, see the Roll of Honour site.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincolnshire and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Lawress Wapentake in the West Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • Today's district governance is provided by the West Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Lincoln petty session hearings on the 1st and 3rd Fridays of each month.
  • In 1664, Thomas CODD left 20 Shillings per year for the poor.
  • In 1668, Mrs. LEARY left 10 Shillings per year for the poor. But by 1881, all knowledge as to what land generated the income was lost and the grant left undone.
  • In 1716, Elizabeth CROFT left 20 Shillings per year for the poor.
  • The Common Lands were enclosed here around 1771.
  • In 1824, John CAMM left the interest from £500 for the poor.
  • As a result of the 1834 Poor Law Amendment Act, the parish became part of the Lincoln Poor Law Union.
  • In 1881, the parish still held the right to send one poor man to Market Rasen Hospital.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 380
1831 516
1841 566
1851 604
1871 692
1881 682
1891 660
1901 609
1911 608

Schools

  • Welton School was built by subscription in 1826. In 1881 it had about 130 students. In 1889 it was rebuilt to accomodate 167 students.
  • In 1881, the parish was entitled to send 11 boys to Christ's Hospital (or Blue Coat) School in Lincoln.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.