Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for West Barkwith

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

West Barkwith

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Wragby sub-district of the Horncastle Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The 1901 census included these surnames:
WELLS
CRAWFORD
BROXHOLME
HARRISON
FOUNTAIN
KIRK
SHUCKSMITH
STAMPER
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 627
1861 R.G. 9 / 2365
1871 R.G. 10 / 3378
1891 R.G. 12 / 2597

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the West Barkwith area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church was dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church is a small stone building. It was completely restored in 1870, followed by alterations in 1883.
  • The church seated only about 80.
  • The Diocese of Lincoln declared the church redundant in September, 1981. In February, 1983, the church was demolished. At last report (2012), the churchyard was still in use for burials.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograp of the churchyard on Geo-graph, taken in December 2005.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date back to 1684.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Westwold Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Anglican church is currently part of The Barkwith Group of the West Wold Deanery.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Wragby sub-district of the Horncastle Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which began in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

West Barkwith is both a village and a parish in the Wolds, about midway between Louth and Lincoln, 13 miles northeast of Lincoln, 13 miles southwest of Louth and 2.5 miles northeast of Wragby. Panton parish lies to the southeast and West Torrington parish to the northwest. The parish covers about 500 acres.

West Barkwith village lies astride the old Louth Road (now the A157) to Lincoln. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of West Barkwith which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which West Barkwith has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from West Barkwith to another place.

Manors

  • The Manor House at West Barkwith, Lincoln LN8 5LF, is now open as a bed and breakfast. This 18th century manor house stands in picturesque landscaped grounds overlooking a lake. Situated on the edge of the wolds within easy travelling of Lincoln, Louth, Horncastle and many other places of interest. Country walks from the back door and evening meals a speciality. Village pub nearby.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF150800 (Lat/Lon: 53.304455, -0.275650), West Barkwith which are provided by:

Military Records

There is a joint war memorial shared by East Barkwith with West Barkwith. It is on the A157 junction in East Barkwith. It was unveiled in May, 1921.

There is a list of the names from the memorial and other sources at the Roll of Honour site.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in the county of Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the east division of the ancient Wraggoe Wapentake in the East Lindsey district in the parts of Lindsey.
  • The parish is governed by a joint East and West Barkwith Parish Council, which you can contact regarding civic or political issues, but they are NOT staffed to answer family history questions.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 66
1811 66
1821 93
1831 113
1841 130
1851 143
1871 123
1881 119
1891 132
1901 115
1911 110
1921 93
1931 86

Schools