Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Westborough

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Westborough

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Bennington sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1841 H.O. 107 / 624
1861 R.G. 9 / 2481
1891 R.G. 12 / 2715

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Westborough area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to All Saints.
  • The church is an ancient stucture dating back to the early 13th century.
  • The church has seating for 300.
  • A photograph of All Saints church is at the Wendy PARKINSON English Church Photographs site.
  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of All Saints Church on Geo-graph, taken in November, 2005.
  • Here is a photo of All Saints Church, taken by Ron COLE (who retains the copyright):

All Saints Church

Church Records

  • As an ecclesiastical parish, Westborough included Dry Doddington.
  • The Anglican parish church register dates from 1564 and bishop's transcripts include a few records from 1562.
  • The Family History Library holds the Westborough parish registers on microfilm for 1564 - 1957. Specifics are: Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1564-1734 Baptisms, burials, 1735-1808 Marriages, 1735-1753 Baptisms, burials, 1809-1812 Marriages, 1754-1812 Baptisms, 1813-1872 Marriages, 1813-1957 Burials, 1813-1947; film 1542307 item 3.
  • Parish marriages for 1651 - 1837, including Dry Doddington, are found in Boyd's Marriage Index.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has published several marriage indexes for the Loveden Deanery to make your search easier.
  • The Lincolnshire FHS has a Loan Library service which has the parish registers on microfiche for baptisms from 1812 to 1846.
  • The village had a Catholic chapel, Our Lady of the Holy Souls (some sources show Our Lady of Mercy), served from Grantham. The Primitive Methodists had a small chapel built here in 1850, which became the Catholic chapel prior to 1900. For information and assistance in researching these chapels, see our non-conformist religions page.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Bennington sub-district of the Newark Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Westborough is a civil parish and village just one mile east of Long Bennington and about 6 miles SW of Newark on Trent. The town of Grantham is 7 miles away to the SW. The parish covers about 2,000 acres.

The small village of Westborough sits on the northern bank of the River Witham as it flows toward Long Bennington. If you are planning a visit:

  • Take the A1 motorway north out of Grantham. Turn east off the motorway at Long Bennington.
  • Dry Doddington parish lies just to the north and Foston parish to the south.
  • Jonathan THACKER has a photograph of the Village Hall on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2010. Stop in and ask for a schedule of forth-coming events,
  • Visit our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Westborough which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Westborough has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • Westborough was a Roman settlement.
  • Many of the HERON family, baronets, of Stubton, were buried here.
  • Check the history of the Wapentake at the Loveden Wapentake website.

Land and Property

  • The principal landowners in 1871 were George NEVILE, Esq., the trustees of the late reverend Robert HALL and several small proprietors like the LEE, WILSON, GILBERT and JOHNSON families.
  • The principal landowner in 1913 was Sir Ralph Henry Sachevel WILMOT, baronet.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SK850440 (Lat/Lon: 52.986584, -0.735262), Westborough which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • The name Westborough is from Old English west+burh, for "western stronghold". In the 1086 Domesday Book, the village name is given as Westburg.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Names, Personal

  • White's 1872 Directory lists the following surnames: ARNOLD, ATKINSON, BROUGHTON, COPLEY, CRAGG, FARMIDGE, GILBERT, HATFIELD, JOHNSON, LEE, MEREDITH, MILES, MINTA, POTTS and ROBINSON.
  • Kelley's 1913 Directory lists the following surnames: ARNOLD, BREWSTER, BURROWS, CARR, GROCOCK, HOYES, HUTCHINSON, JOHNSON, OLDHAM, POTTS, ROBINSON, SEAGRAVE and STOREY.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Loveden Wapentake in the South Kesteven division of the county, in the parts of Kesteven.
  • In April, 1931, this Civil Parish was abolished and re-incarnated as the combined Civil Parish of Westborough and Dry Doddington.
  • For today's district governance, contact the South Kesteven District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spittlegate (Grantham) petty session hearings.
  • Since the enclosure of common lands in 1771, a portion of the land has been used to generate income for the parish poor.
  • An unknown donor contributed 12 shillings to the poor each year in the 1800's.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Newark Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 181
1841 250
1871 217
1881 181
1891 138
1911 151

Schools

  • The Public Elementary School was built in the 1800's to seat 50 children, but was closed by 1896. The children of the parish went to school in Dry Doddington.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.