Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Winceby

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Winceby

Cemeteries

Census

  • The parish was in the Tetford sub-district of the Horncastle Registration District.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2108
1861 R.G. 9 / 2369
1871 R.G. 10 / 3383

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Winceby area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to Saint Margaret.
  • The church in 1842 was a small thatched building.
  • In 1866 a new church was built to replace the small, thatched building. It allows 84 seatings.
  • David HITCHBORNE has a photographs of The site of the former Church of St Margaret on Geo-graph, taken in June, 2007.

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1579.
  • The LFHS has published several marriage and burial indexes for the Horncastle Deanery to make your search easier.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Tetford sub-district of the Horncastle Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Winceby is a small parish in the Wold hills, about 5 miles east by south of Horncastle, 5 miles northwest of Spilsby and about 12 miles due south of Louth. Mareham on the Hill parish lies to the west and Hagworthingham and Lusby parishes to the east. The parish covered only about 890 acres in 1842, all in one farm occupied at the time by Charles HILL. In 1872, the parish is recorded as only 842 acres, and by 1900 at 853 acres.

The village of Winceby has only about 15 buildings. If you are planning a visit:

You can see pictures of Winceby which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Winceby has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Winceby to another place.

History

  • Richard CROFT has a photograph of Slash Lane on Geo-graph, taken in March, 2009.
  • David HITCHBORNE has a series of photographs of the Battle of Winceby re-enactors on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2003.
  • Here is a photo of a building standing at the site of the battle, taken by Patricia McCRORY (who retains the copyright). A plaque stands in front of this building:

Winceby battle site

Land and Property

  • In 1872, the principal landowner was Charles HILL, who had purchased the parish land from Charles MANWARING.
  • In 1882, the principal landowner was John HILL, nephew of Charles HILL, above, who died in 1875.
  • In 1900, the principal landowner was W. D. ROGERS.
  • In 1913, the principal landowner was Edward PATCHETT.

Manors

  • Winceby Hall is mentioned in 19th and early 20th century directories, but no details are provided. It is sometimes listed as just Winceby House.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF310680 (Lat/Lon: 53.192940, -0.040614), Winceby which are provided by:

Military History

  • The Battle of Winceby was fought just west of here on Wednesday, 11 October 1643. Cromwell's Parliamentary forces defeated the Royalists. The scene of the battle is called "Slash Lane" to the present day. Colonel Cromwell'is horse was killed under him at the first charge. But Cromwell's forces won the battle, taking eight hundred prisoners and capturing twenty-six colours.
  • Chris has a photograph of the Battle of Winceby Memorial outside Winceby Hall on Geo-graph, taken in October, 2013.

Military Records

There is one Commonwealth War Grave in St. Margaret's churchyard for World War I:

  1. John Edward SEWELL, priv., 6th Btn. Lincs. Regt., age 19, died 29 Dec 1915. Son of John and Mary Ann SEWELL of Scrafield, LIN.

Names, Personal

  • White's 1872 Directory lists the following people in the parish: Charles HILL, Thomas HOYES and the Rev. Wm. Wordsworth TALFORD.
  • White's 1882 Directory lists the following people in the parish: John HILL, Isaac WARD and the Rev. Elijah Edward Baylee SALISBURY.
  • Kelly's 1900 Directory lists the following people in the parish: Edward CONINGTON junr., farmer, and Edward PATCHETT, farmer.
  • Kelly's 1913 Directory lists the following people in the parish: Charles ABBOTT, farmer, and Edward PATCHETT, farmer.

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in county Lincoln and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Hill Wapentake (Hill Hundred) in the East Lindsey district and parts of Lindsey.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 44
1811 64
1821 78
1831 65
1841 70
1851 78
1871 68
1881 64
1891 61
1911 43

Schools