Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Winthorpe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Winthorpe

Cemeteries

  • St Mary, Church End, Church of England

Census

  • The parish was in the Burgh sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • We have a handful of 1901 census surnames in a text file. Your additions are welcome.
  • Check our Census Resource page for county-wide resources.
  • The table below gives census piece numbers, where known:
Census
Year
Piece No.
1851 H.O. 107 / 2110
1861 R.G. 9 / 2375
1871 R.G. 10 / 3394
1891 R.G. 12 / 2604

Churches

  • St Mary, Church End, Church of England

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Winthorpe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The Anglican parish church is dedicated to St. Mary.
  • The church is on Church Lane (surprise!) and is first mentioned in 1256.
  • The church seats about 300.
  • A photograph of St. Mary's church is at the Wendy Parkinson English Church Photographs site. Click on the "Yet More Lincolnshire" album. Paul Fenwick also has a picture of the church on his site.
  • Here is a photo of St. Mary's church, taken by Ron Cole (who retains the copyright).

Winthorpe St. Mary's

Church Records

  • The Anglican parish registers date from 1551.
  • Apparently there was a Sunday School, dedicated to All Saints in 1899. The web author has found no mention of a church with that name in the parish, with the exception that the church listed above has a full name of "All Saints and the Blessed Virgin Mary.".
  • The parish lies in the Calcewaithe & Candleshoe Deanery. The church is currently part of the Skegness and Winthorpe group of the Deanery.
  • Check our Church Records page for county-wide resources.

Civil Registration

  • The parish was in the Burgh sub-district of the Spilsby Registration District.
  • Check our Civil Registration page for sources and background on Civil Registration which started in July, 1837.

Description and Travel

Winthorpe is both a village and a parish that lie on the North Sea just north of the east end of the A52 trunk road, about 13 miles northeast of Boston and 12 miles east of Spilsby. The parish includes the hamlet of Seathorne, home of the popular Lookout Pub on the beach. Skegness parish lies to the south and Burgh le Marsh parish to the west. The parish covers almost 2,400 acres. In the 1870s, most of the parish was grassland.

If you are planning a visit:

  • Visit the Charnwood Tavern while in the village.
  • See our touring page for more sources.
You can see pictures of Winthorpe which are provided by:

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Winthorpe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

History

  • This parish had a pumping station to supply fresh water to the town of Skegness.

Maps

  • See our Maps page for additional resources.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TF560650 (Lat/Lon: 53.159256, 0.331820), Winthorpe which are provided by:

Military History

  • The War Memorial stands in front of Saint Mary's Church. The photo is by Richard Croft.

Names, Geographical

  • The name Winthorpe is from the Old English Wina+thorp, or "hamlet of Wina". Not mentioned in the 1086 Domesday Book, the village is given as Winetorp in the 12th century.
    [A. D. Mills, "A Dictionary of English Place-Names," Oxford University Press, 1991]

Politics and Government

  • This place was an ancient parish in Lincoln county and became a modern Civil Parish when those were established.
  • The parish was in the ancient Candleshoe Wapentake in the East Lindsey district and parts of Lindsey.
  • For today's district governance, see the East Lindsey District Council.
  • In April, 1926, this Civil Parish was abolished and the land split between Skegness and Addlethorpe Civil Parishes.

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • Bastardy cases would be heard in the Spilsby petty session hearings held every other Monday.
  • An ancient charity left by Edmund PINCHBECK in 1670, provided £6 yearly to aid the aged poor.
  • After the Poor Law Amendment Act reforms of 1834, the parish became part of the Spilsby Poor Law Union.

Population

Year  Inhabitants
1801 221
1811 174
1821 233
1831 244
1861 305
1871 285
1881 337
1891 326
1911 511
1921 698

Schools

  • A National School was built here in 1864-5 to hold a maximum of 57 students.
  • For more on researching school records, see our Schools Research page.