Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for All Hallows Lombard-street

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

All Hallows Lombard-street

"ALLHALLOWS, Lombard-street, the church of, is situate in Bell-alley, near the north corner of Lombard-street, in the ward of Langbourn. A church stood here dedicated to the same patrons before the year 1053. It is a rectory, and one of the thirteen peculiars within the city, appertaining to the see of Canterbury. The advowson appears to have been anciently in lay hands, as Brithmer, a wealthy citizen, with the approbation of Archbishop Stigand and Dean Goderic, gave it with a messuage adjoining to the cathedral church of Canterbury in the year 1503; by virtue of which donative it still remains in the gift of the dean and chapter of the Metropolitan Church. The present rector is the Rev. Walter Brown, a prebendary of Canterbury, who was instituted in 1810. It is a neat, plain, and like all Sir Christopher Wren's churches, a well proportioned edifice. The body is eighty-four feet in length, fifty-two in breadth and thirty in height." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 59 in the above map - is located in Langbourn Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, sold 1938.
The parish was later united with St Edmund King & Martyr 1937.
The modern name of this parish is All Hallows,Twickenham.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for All Hallows Lombard-street.

topup

Biography

Andrew Thrush and John P. Ferris (eds.). Toldervey, Christopher (c.1550-1613), of Lombard Street, London, The History of Parliament: the House of Commons 1604-1629. Cambridge Univ. Press (2010) [Full text].
topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for All Hallows Lombard-street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Society of Friends/Quaker is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in All Hallows, Lombard Street [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on All Hallows Lombard-street.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on All Hallows Lombard-street.

You can see pictures of All Hallows Lombard-street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from All Hallows Lombard-street to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which All Hallows Lombard-street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of All Hallows Lombard-street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

Moving a church tower from the Square Mile to Twickenham: the story of All Hallows, on the Flickering Lamps website.

Lost Wren churches - All Hallows Lombard Street, from The Lost City of London website.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of All Hallows Lombard-street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the All Hallows Lombard district.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for All Hallows Lombard-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.