Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for All Hallows London Wall

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

All Hallows London Wall

"ALLHALLOWS, London-wall, the church of, stands a little westward of Broad-street in London-wall, whence it derives its second name. It is a rectory, the patronage of which was anciently in the prior and convent of the Holy Trinity, near Aldgate, who in 1335 presented it to Thomas Richer de Sanston. At the dissolution of religious houses in the reign of Henry VIII, this church, with the priory to which it belonged, was surrendered to the crown, in whose gift the advowson still remains. Its present rector is the Rev. Robert Nares, a canon residentiary of Litchfield, archdeacon of Stafford, and a prebendary of St. Paul's. He was instituted in 1817. It escaped the fire in 1666, but became latterly so ruinous that in 1765 the parishioners obtained an act of parliament to pull it down and rebuild it; which they did from the designs of the elder Mr. Dance, the (then) city architect." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 14 in the above map - is located in Broad Street Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt in 1765-7 by George Dance jnr.
The modern name of this parish is All Hallows on the Wall.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for All Hallows London Wall.

topup
topup

Church History

Notes on Some of the Guild Churches, a paper by Sir Frederick Tidbury-Beer, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

Findlay, Donald. All Hallows London Wall : a history and description. London : Guild Church Council, (1985) 40 pp.
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for All Hallows London Wall parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in All Hallows, London Wall include: Greek Orthodox and Independent/Congregational [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on All Hallows London Wall.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on All Hallows London Wall.

You can see pictures of All Hallows London Wall which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from All Hallows London Wall to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which All Hallows London Wall has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of All Hallows London Wall parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of All Hallows London Wall - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the All Hallows London and All Hallows London Wall districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of All Hallows London Wall, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for All Hallows London Wall parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.