Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for All Hallows the Great

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

All Hallows the Great

"ALLHALLOWS, The GREAT, the church of, is situated at the north-east corner of Allhallows-lane, on the south side of Upper Thames-street, nearly opposite the lower end of Bush-lane, Cannon-street. It derives its name from its dedication to all the saints or hallows, and its epithets, to distinguish it from an adjoining church of the same name, which was called the less. It is also in ancient books called the more, or the greater, and, ad Fœnum in the ropery from its vicinity to some rope walks. It is a rectory, and one of the thirteen peculiars in London, belonging to the Archiepiscopal see of Canterbury. After the fire of London, the parish of Allhallows the Less, originally called Allhallows, super cellarium, from being built on arched vaults or cellars, was united to Allhallows the Great, and the present church, built from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren, erected for the use of both parishes. Its present rector is the Rev. Wm. St. Andrew Vincent, a prebendary of Chichester, who was instituted in 1788." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 81 in the above map - is located in Dowgate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, sold and demolished 1894, only tower and churchyard remaining.
The parish was later united with St Michael Paternoster Royal 1893.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for All Hallows the Great.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for All Hallows the Great parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for All Hallows the Great and All Hallows the Less [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on All Hallows the Great.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on All Hallows the Great.

You can see pictures of All Hallows the Great which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from All Hallows the Great to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which All Hallows the Great has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of All Hallows the Great parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of All Hallows the Great - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the All Hallows Great and All Hallows Great London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) All Hallows the Great and (ii) All Hallows The Great And All Hallows The Less, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for All Hallows the Great parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.