Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for All Hallows the Less

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

All Hallows the Less

"ALLHALLOWS, The LESS; stood on the south side of Thames-street, almost adjoining to that of Allhallows the Great; but having suffered in the common calamity in 1666, the parish was united to that of Allhallows the Great." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 82 in the above map - is located in Dowgate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with Allhallows the Great 1670, St Michael Paternoster Royal 1893.
All Hallows the Less Parish was also known as All Hallows upon the Cellar.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for All Hallows the Less.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for All Hallows the Less parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for All Hallows the Great and All Hallows the Less [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on All Hallows the Less.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on All Hallows the Less.

You can see pictures of All Hallows the Less which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from All Hallows the Less to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which All Hallows the Less has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of All Hallows the Less parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of All Hallows the Less - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the All Hallows Less and All Hallows Less London districts.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for All Hallows the Less parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.