Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for Christchurch Newgate-Street

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

Christchurch Newgate-Street

"CHRIST'S CHURCH, Newgate-street. This church is dedicated to the name and honour of Christ, and anciently belonged to the convent of Grey Friars or Franciscans, but falling to the crown, at the dissolution of the religious houses, Henry VIII. gave it to the mayor, commonalty and citizens of London, for a parish church . . . and as much of St. Sepulchre's parish as laid within New-gate, was added to this newly created parish, which was then named Christ Church. From this time it was made a vicarage in the patronage of the mayor, commonalty and citizens of London, as governors of the royal hospital of St. Bartholomew. The old church was destroyed by the great fire in 1666, after which the small parish of St. Leonard Foster, whose church was also destroyed, and not rebuilt, was annexed to Christ Church as united parishes by the act for rebuilding the parish churches thus destroyed. St. Leonard's is a rectory in the patronage of the dean and chapter of Westminster. The present incumbent of this united vicarage and rectory is the Rev. George Preston, jun., M.A." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 3 in the above map - is located in Farringdon Within Ward.
Formed in 1547, in place of the parishes of St Ewin and St Nicholas Shambles which were dissolved.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren 1677-91, gutted in 1940, tower restored in 1960.
The parish was united with St Leonard Foster Lane in 1670, and with St Sepulchre Holborn in 1954.
Also known as Christchurch Greyfriars and Christ Church Greyfriars Newgate.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for Christchurch Newgate-Street.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for Christchurch Newgate-Street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for Christ Church, Newgate Street with St Leonard, Foster Lane [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on Christchurch Newgate-Street.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on Christchurch Newgate-Street.

You can see pictures of Christchurch Newgate-Street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Christchurch Newgate-Street to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Christchurch Newgate-Street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of Christchurch Newgate-Street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of Christchurch Newgate-Street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the Christchurch Newgate district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of Christchurch Newgate-Street, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for Christchurch Newgate-Street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.