Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Alban Wood-street

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Alban Wood-street

"ST. ALBAN'S CHURCH, Wood-street, Cheapside, is situated about the middle of the east side. It is an indifferent attempt at the pointed style of architecture by Sir Christopher Wren, who, it is dear by this and other of his churches in the ancient English style of Gothic architecture, had but little knowledge and feeling for this appropriate and elegant style of ecclesiastical architecture. It is dedicated to St. Alban, the Anglo-protomartyr who suffered under the persecution of Diocletian, and gave his name to the ancient town and abbey of St. Alban, in Hertfordshire. The first church on this site was erected in the year 930, and dedicated to the same saint. After various repairs, the ancient church was taken down, in 1634, and another erected, that was destroyed by the great fire of London in 1666, when the present edifice was erected after the same plan as the former. The living is a rectory, in the patronage of Eton college, and the dean and chapter of St. Paul's, alternately; and the parish of St. Olave, Silver-street, was united to it after the fire. Its present rector is the Rev. Edward J. Beckwith, one of the minor canons of St. Paul's, who was instituted in 1600." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 10 in the above map - is located in Cripplegate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren 1682-7, Church destroyed 1940.
The parish was later united with St Vedast Foster Lane 1954.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Alban Wood-street.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Alban Wood-street area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Alban Wood-street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Alban Wood Street with St Olave Silver Street include: Independent/Congregational and Presbyterian [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Alban Wood-street.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Alban Wood-street.

You can see pictures of St Alban Wood-street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Alban Wood-street to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Alban Wood-street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Alban Wood-street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Alban Wood-street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Alban Wood Street district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Alban Wood-street and (ii) St Alban Wood Street With St Olave Silver Street, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Alban Wood-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.