Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Alphage Sion College

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Alphage Sion College

"ST. ALPHAGE, the church of, is situated in Aldermanbury and London-wall, having an entrance from each. It derives its name from St. Alphage or Elphage, a noble Saxon saint, and Archbishop of Canterbury, who was murdered at Greenwich by the Danes, in the year 1013. The former church, which was a small and mean edifice, escaped the flames in 1666, but has been recently rebuilt from the designs of the younger Mr. George Dance. It has the singularity of having elliptical columns instead of circular, where, being attached to the wall in a very narrow street, great projection could not be obtained, and consequently produce a better effect of light and shade from the depth of the undercutting; than either pilasters or half columnss. The living is a rectory in the patronage of the Bishop of London, and its present rector is the Rev. Robert Watts, one of the prebendaries of St. Paul's, who was instituted in 1799." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish, also known as St Alphage London Wall - no. 9 in the above map - is located in Cripplegate Ward.
The church was damaged in 1666, rebuilt in 1777, demolished 1924, with only the tower remaining.
The parish was later united with St Giles Cripplegate 1954.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Alphage Sion College.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Alphage Sion College parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Baptist is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Alphage London Wall [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia pages on St Alphage London Wall and Sion College.

You can see pictures of St Alphage Sion College which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Alphage Sion College to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Alphage Sion College has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Alphage Sion College parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Alphage Sion College - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Alphage Sion and St Alphage Sion College districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Alphage Sion College, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Alphage Sion College parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.