Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Andrew Undershaft

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Andrew Undershaft

"ST ANDREW, Undershaft, the church of, is situated at the south-east corner of the street called St Mary-axe and Leadenhall-street. There was a church on this site dedicated to the same saint as early as the year 1362, which was pulled down in 1532, and the present church erected in its room, at the expense of William FitzWilliams, who was sheriff in 1507. It derived its name of Undershaft from a very lofty May-pole, anciently called a shaft which was annually raised in the street near to it on May-day, and was higher than the steeple. The church is a plain Gothic structure, with a well lighted body, and a square tower, with pinnacles at the angles, and a campanile with six bells within them. It is a rectory, in the gift of the Bishop of London, and is celebrated as containing the monument raised in memory of the faithful and able historiographer of the day, John Stow, who died on the 5th April, 1605, and, to the disgrace of his contemporaries, in great poverty. Its present rector is the Rev. Wm. Antrobus, who was instituted in 1794." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 52 in the above map - is located in Aldgate Ward.
The church was damaged by a terrorist bomb in 1992 - a 17th century stained glass window was destroyed.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Andrew Undershaft.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Andrew Undershaft parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Andrew Undershaft with St Mary Axe include: Independent/Congregational and Wesleyan Methodist [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Andrew Undershaft.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Andrew Undershaft.

You can see pictures of St Andrew Undershaft which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Andrew Undershaft to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Andrew Undershaft has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Andrew Undershaft parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

St. Mary Axe was a medieval parish in the City of London whose name survives as that of the street which it formerly occupied. The Church of St Mary Axe was demolished in 1561 and its parish united with that of St Andrew Undershaft, which is situated on the corner of St. Mary Axe and Leadenhall Street. [https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Mary_Axe]

St. Andrew Undershaft - a survivor of the Great Fire & Blitz, from London Unveiled.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Andrew Undershaft - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Andrew Undershaft district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Andrew Undershaft, (ii) St Mary Axe and (iii) St Andrew Undershaft With St Mary Axe, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Andrew Undershaft parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.