Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Andrew by the Wardrobe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Andrew by the Wardrobe

"ST. ANDREW NEAR THE WARDROBE, the church of, stands on the east side of St. Andrew's-hill, near to the public wharf called Puddle-dock. It was formerly called St. Andrew juxta Baynard Castle, from its vicinity to that palace; but on the removal of the office of the King's wardrobe to a spot now called Wardrobe-place, it received its present addition to its name. This church is supposed to have been founded about the same time as Baynard's Castle was built, and, perhaps, by the same nobleman, as the advowson was anciently in the family of Fitzwalter, from which it passed through many hands, till the year 1663, when it devolved to the crown, in whose gift it still remains. . . The present rector is the Rev. Isaac Saunders, who was elected by the parishioners in 1816. The present church was built in 1670, after the great fire, by Sir Christopher Wren, in a plain, substantial and useful manner, of brick and stone. The interior is sevens-five feet in length, fifty-nine in breadth, and thirty-eight in height." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 32 in the above map - is located in Castle Baynard Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren 1685-95, damaged WWII.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Andrew by the Wardrobe.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Andrew by the Wardrobe parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

"Swedenborgian/New Church/New Jerusalem is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Andrew by the Wardrobe with St Ann Blackfriars." - LDS

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Andrew by the Wardrobe.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Andrew by the Wardrobe.

You can see pictures of St Andrew by the Wardrobe which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Andrew by the Wardrobe to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Andrew by the Wardrobe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Andrew by the Wardrobe parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Andrew by the Wardrobe - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Andrew by the Wardrobe and (ii) St Andrew By The Wardrobe With St Ann Blackfriars, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Andrew by the Wardrobe parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.