Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Anne Blackfriars

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Anne Blackfriars

"ST. ANNE'S, Blackfriars, the church of, stood formerly on the east side of Churchyard-alley, in the precinct of Blackfriars, and in the ward of Farringdon within; but having suffered in the fatal calamity of 1666, and being very small, the parish was united to that of St. Andrew Wardrobe, which see." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 1 in the above map - is located in Farringdon Within Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt, two portions of the churchyard remain.
The parish was later united with St Andrew by the Wardrobe 1670.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Anne Blackfriars.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Anne Blackfriars area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

The Parish of St. Anne's Blackfriars, London, to 1665: With a List of the Clergy: Some Explorations in Ecclesiastical Records, Corporation of London (1969) 54 pp.
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Anne Blackfriars parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Swedenborgian/New Church/New Jerusalem is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Andrew by the Wardrobe with St Ann Blackfriars [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Anne Blackfriars.

You can see pictures of St Anne Blackfriars which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Anne Blackfriars to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Anne Blackfriars has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Anne Blackfriars parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Anne Blackfriars - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Anne Blackfriars London district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Anne Blackfriars and (ii) St Andrew By The Wardrobe With St Ann Blackfriars, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Anne Blackfriars parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.