Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate

"ST. ANN'S and St. AGNES, Aldersgate, the church of, is on the north side of St Ann's-lane, at the northern extremity of the New Post-office in St.Martin's-le-grand, and receives its name from being dedicated to St Ann, the mother of the Virgin Mary, and its addition from its situation as being formerly just within the ancient Aldersgate. It was formerly designated St Ann in the Willows, from the number of trees of that species which grew in that neighbourhood. The foundation of this church is very ancient, and mention is made of it as so in 1322. . . The present rector is the Rev. John Hutchins, who was presented by the Bishop of London in 1796. The old church was destroyed by the fire of London, and the present church was erected on its site by Sir Christopher Wren in 1680, and the parish of St John Zacchary united to it. The interior is fifty-three feet square, and thirty-five high, and is subdivided into a smaller square in the centre by four handsome Corinthian columns, which support an ornamented ceiling." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 4 in the above map - is located in Aldersgate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren 1676-87, damaged WWII, rebuilt in 1966.
The church was destroyed in St Vedast Foster Lane 1954.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary include: French Protestant, Presbyterian, Sandemanian, Society of Friends/Quaker, and Wesleyan Methodist [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate.

You can see pictures of St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

Herbert, William. Illustrations of the site and neighbourhood of the new post office, comprehending antiquarian notices of St. Martin's-le-Grand, and its liberty, and the adjoining parishes of St. Anne, St. Agnes, and St. John, Zachary, with an appendix, containing an account of the antient Mourning Bush Tavern, & c. Aldersgate. And various London taverns, its contemporaries. London, Smales and Tuck, (1830) 75 pp. [Full text]
McMurray, William. The records of two city parishes; a collection of documents illustrative of the history of SS. Anne and Agnes, Aldersgate, and St. John Zachary, London, from the twelfth century. London, Hunter & Longhurst, (1925) 500pp.
topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Anne St Agnes and St Anne St Agnes London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate and (ii) St Ann And St Agnes With St John Zachary, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Anne and St Agnes Aldersgate parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.