Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Antholin

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Antholin

"ST. ANTHONY'S or St. Antholins CHURCH, Budge-row, is at the south-west corner of Size-lane, Bucklersbury and Budge-row, Queen-street, Cheapside, which runs in a direct line from Watling-street to Cannon-street. It was erected by Sir Christopher Wren, in 1682; and although it has no great pretensions to taste it is a scientific, well-constructed church. . . This church receives its name from St Anthony, an Egyptian hermit, and founder of the order of Eremites of St Anthony. The time of its foundation is not known; but that it is of great antiquity appears from its being in the gift the canons of St. Paul, in 1181. It was rebuilt, in 1399, by Thomas Knolles, Mayor of London; again, in 1513, by John Tate, mercer. In 1616 it was repaired and beautified at the expense of one thousand pounds, raised by the contributions of several munificent parishioners; but being destroyed by the fire of London, in 1666, it was rebuilt in 1682, as before mentioned. To this parish is annexed that of St John the Baptist, whose church, before the of London, stood close by Walbrook. . . The present rector is the Rev. John Gordon, who was instituted by the dean and chapter in 1827." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 67 in the above map - is located in Cordwainer Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, sold 1874, demolished 1875.
The parish was later united with St Mary Aldermary 1873.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Antholin.

topup

Church History

How did one of Sir Christopher Wren's Churches end up in Sth London?, on the IanVisits blog.

Paget, Francis Edward. St. Antholin's : or, Old churches and new : a tale for the times. London : J. Burns (1842) 151 pp. [Full text]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Antholin parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Antholin with St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Chester, J.L. and Armytage, G.J. The parish registers of St. Antholin, Budge Row, London, containing the marriages, baptisms, and burials from 1538 to 1754, and of St. John Baptist on Wallbrook, London containing the Baptisms and Burials from 1682-1754. London (1883) 282 pp. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Antholin.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Antholin.

You can see pictures of St Antholin which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Antholin to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Antholin has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Antholin parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Antholin London district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Antholin and (ii) St Antholin With St John The Baptist Upon Walbrook, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Probate Records

The last wills and testaments of Thomas Knolles and John Welles from the Medieval English Towns website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Antholin parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.