Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange

"ST. BARTHOLOMEW, BY THE EXCHANGE, the church of, is situated at the south east corner of Bartholomew-lane and Threadneedle-street, near the north-east angle of the Bank of England. It was destroyed by the fire in 1666, all but the tower, which was cased and newly topped at the time of rebuilding the body of the church. This church is of very ancient foundation, for in the year 1331 John de Tyerne was presented to it, on the death of John de Aldeburgh, the rector, and it was then so entirely decayed that it was necessary to rebuild it. The living being at the time of the Reformation in the gift of the Abbey of St. Mary de Grace, it fell on the dissolution of the religious houses into the hands of the Crown, in whom the advowson, which is a rectory, has continued to the present time. The present rector is the Rev. George Shephard, D.D., preacher of Gray's-inn, who was instituted by the Lord Chancellor in 1807." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 20 in the above map - is located in Broad Street Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, demolished 1891 or 1902.
The parish was united with St. Christopher-le-Stocks, and lateeSt Margaret Lothbury 1839.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Margaret Lothbury with St Christopher le Stocks and St Bartholomew by the Exchange include: Independent/Congregational and Presbyterian [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Freshfield, Edwin. On the parish books of St. Margaret-Lothbury, St. Christopher-le-Stocks, and St. Bartholomew-by-the-Exchange, in the city of London. London: Printed by J. B. Nichols and Sons (1876) 67pp. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange.

You can see pictures of St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the  St Bartholomew By district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange and (ii) St Bartholomew the Great, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.