Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Bartholomew the Great

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Bartholomew the Great

"ST. BARTHOLOMEW THE GREAT, the church of, is situated on the north-east side of Smithfield, and at the north end of Duke-street. It escaped the fire in 1666, and is a large plain church of Saxon and Norman architecture . . . The present church is in nearly the same state as it stood in the reign of Edward VI.; but the recent fire in May, 1830, has opened to view many of the beautiful and curious architectural antiquities which had been concealed by mean buildings. . . The patronage of this church, which, in all probability, was anciently in the prior and canons of St Bartholomew is now in private hands. This parish claims an exemption from the necessity of being free of the city to carry on retail trades within its boundaries. The present rector is the Rev. John Abbiss, who was instituted by the late William Phillips, Esq., of Cavendish-square, its " [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish is located in Farringdon Without Ward.
First established as a priory in 1123.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Bartholomew the Great.

topup
topup

Church History

Brief history, from medieval-london.blogspot

St Bartholomew's Gatehouse, from Historic UK.

St.Bartholomew's: hospital, museum, church, art gallery and film set, from London-In-Sight Blog. [Lavishly illustrated]

The Weeping Monument of Edward Cooke - well-illustrated historical account from the London Details website.

Moore, Norman. The church of St. Bartholomew the Great, West Smithfield. Its foundation, present condition, and funeral monuments. [West Smithfield] W.H. & L. Collingridge (1892) 72 pp. [Full text]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Bartholomew the Great are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Webb, E. A. The Records of St. Bartholomew's Priory and St. Bartholomew the Great, West Smithfield: Volume 2 (Oxford, 1921), British History Online [Full text].
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Bartholomew the Great.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Bartholomew the Great.

Church website.

You can see pictures of St Bartholomew the Great which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Bartholomew the Great to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Bartholomew the Great has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Bartholomew the Great parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Bartholomew the Great - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Bartholomew Great district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Bartholomew by the Royal Exchange and (ii) St Bartholomew the Great, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Bartholomew the Great parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.