Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Benet Pauls Wharf

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Benet Pauls Wharf

"ST. BENNET'S, Paul's Wharf, Upper Thames-Street, the Church of, is situated at the south-west corner of St Bennet's-hill, Doctors'-commons, and Upper Thames-street. Its name it derived from being dedicated to the same saint as [St Benet Gracechurch-street], and from its vicinity to Paul's wharf. This church is of very ancient foundation, and appears from the registry of Diceto, Dean of St. Paul's, under the year 1181. Its distinguishing epithet has been frequently changed, having been called, at various times, St. Bennet Huda, and St. Bennet, Wood-wharf, as well as by its present appellation. The ancient church on this site having been destroyed by the fire of London in 1666, the present building was erected in its stead by Sir Christopher Wren, who finished it in 1683. . . Since the fire, the church is also parochial for the parish of St. Peter, Paul's Wharf, anciently denominated St. Peter's Parva, from the smallness of its dimensions, and to which it is united, the church of which was also destroyed at the same time. It is a rectory, and as the patronage of both parishes appear to have been always in the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's, it still remains in that body. The present rector is the Rev. Henry Ducane, who was instituted by the Dean and Chapter of St Paul's in 1824." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 33 in the above map - is located in Castle Baynard Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren 1677-85.
The parish was later united with St Nicholas Cole Abbey 1879.
The church has been used by a Welsh congregation since 1879.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Benet Pauls Wharf.

topup
topup

Church History

Notes on Some of the Guild Churches, a paper by Sir Frederick Tidbury-Beer, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Benet Pauls Wharf parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Benet Paul's Wharf with St Peter Paul's Wharf [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Littledale, W.A. The Registers of St. Bene't and St. Peter, Paul's Wharf, London. Harleian Society, London (1914-15). [Full text: Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Benet Pauls Wharf.

You can see pictures of St Benet Pauls Wharf which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Benet Pauls Wharf to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Benet Pauls Wharf has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Benet Pauls Wharf parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Benet Pauls Wharf - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Benet Pauls Wharf district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Benet Paul's Wharf and (ii) St Benet Paul's Wharf With St Peter Paul's Wharf, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Benet Pauls Wharf parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.