Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Benet Sherehog

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Benet Sherehog

"ST. BENNETT'S, SHEREHOG, the church-yard of, is opposite to Size (formerly St. Sythe's) lane, on the south side of Pancras-lane, Bucklersbury. In the year 1323, it went by the name of St. Osyth's, subsequently corrupted to Sythes, and next to Size, from its being dedicated to a queen and martyr of that name. But she was divested of the tutelage of this church by Benedict Shorne, a fishmonger of London, who rebuilt and otherwise benefited it. He dedicated it to the saint whose name he bore, and his surname, being corrupted into Shrog, became, subsequently, Sherehog. The ancient church shared the fate of its neighbours in 1666, and not being rebuilt, was united by act of parliament to the parish of Stephen's, Walbrook." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 46 in the above map - is located in Cheap Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Stephen Walbrook 1670.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Benet Sherehog.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Benet Sherehog area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Benet Sherehog parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Stephen Walbrook with St Benet Sherehog [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Bannerman, William Bruce; Bannerman, William Bruce, jr (eds.). The registers of St. Stephen's, Walbrook, and of St. Benet Sherehog, London. London (1920) 208 pp. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Benet Sherehog.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Benet Sherehog.

You can see pictures of St Benet Sherehog which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Benet Sherehog to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Benet Sherehog has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Benet Sherehog parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Benet Sherehog - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the  St Benet Sherehog and St Benet Sherehog London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Benet Sherehog and (ii) St Stephen Walbrook With St Benet Sherehog, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Benet Sherehog parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.