Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Botolph without Aldersgate

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Botolph without Aldersgate

"ST. BOTOLPH, Aldersgate, the church of, is situated at the south-east corner of Little Britain, in Aldersgate-street Without, and received its name from St. Botolph, a British saint born in Cornwall, and from its contiguity to the ancient Alder's gate. Although the fire in 1666 did not reach the ancient church, yet it was so decayed that a part of it was rebuilt in 1757, and farther repaired and beautified in 1829. It was anciently a rectory, the advowson of which was in the dean and canons of St. Martin's-le-Grand, but being for some time unappropriated, Richard II., in 1399, gave the income to the dean for a perpetual anniversary for his deceased consort Queen Anne. In 1593 Henry VII. annexed the collegiate church of St. Martin-le-Orand, with all its appurtenances, to the convent of St. Peter, Westminster; but at the sup- pression of monasteries it was granted by Henry VIII. to his new bishop of Westminster. . . . The advowson is a perpetual curacy, held by the Rev. Thomas H. Causton, who was instituted by the aforesaid dean and chapter in 1821." [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish is located in Aldersgate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt in 1788 by Nathaniel Wright.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Botolph without Aldersgate.

topup
topup

Church History

Currently, St Botolph's-without-Aldersgate is used by London City Presbyterian Church, a congregation of the Free Church of Scotland, that meets there every Sunday - LDS.

Christian Heritage London Visitor Centre - description of its location, the former St Botolph-without-Aldersgate church.

Description of Postman's Park - "this small park, the second largest within the City, was laid out as a public garden in 1880, formed from the churchyard of St Botolph Aldersgate."

Notes on Some of the Guild Churches, a paper by Sir Frederick Tidbury-Beer, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Botolph without Aldersgate are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Botolph without Aldersgate.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Botolph without Aldersgate.

You can see pictures of St Botolph without Aldersgate which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Botolph without Aldersgate to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Botolph without Aldersgate has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Botolph without Aldersgate parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Botolph without Aldersgate - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Botolph Aldersgate district.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Botolph without Aldersgate parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.