Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Botolph without Aldgate

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Botolph without Aldgate

"ST. BOTOLPH, Aldgate, the church of, is situated at the south-east corner of Houndsditch, and nearly opposite the Minories, in Aldgate High-street. It is one of the four churches in London dedicated by our ancestors to their favourite saint, Botolph the Briton. The old church, which was rebuilt by the prior and canons of the Holy Trinity, a short time before the dissolution of that convent, escaped the fire in 1666; but it had become so ruinous in 1741, that it was taken down and the present edifice finished in 1744. It is built principally with brick, and is a plain, bold and massive structure, consisting of a regular formed body and a lofty spire on a rusticated tower. This church was a rectory of very ancient foundation, the patronage of which was in the proprietors of Portsoken Ward, who, in 1115, gave it to the prior and convent of the Holy Trinity. . . . It is now a perpetual curacy, of which Robert Kynaston, Esq., is the patron, who instituted the Rev. J. B. Hollingsworth, D. D., Archdeacon of Huntingdon in 1824." [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish is located in Portsoken Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt in 1741 by George Dance the elder.
It was united with Holy Trinity Minories in 1899.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Botolph without Aldgate.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Botolph without Aldgate are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Parish Clerks' Memorandum Books, St Botolph Aldgate, 1583-1625 - description of a transcription project.

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Botolph without Aldgate.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Botolph without Aldgate.

You can see pictures of St Botolph without Aldgate which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Botolph without Aldgate to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Botolph without Aldgate has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Botolph without Aldgate parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

St Botolph Aldgate a very detailed account, in London Lives 1690 to 1800 of the parish, its population, economy, poor relief, etc., with many extensive datasets - parish records, pauper records, workhouse admissions, poll tax assessments, and more. These have been compiled by compiled by the Life in the Suburbs Project, a collaboration between the Centre for Metropolitan History at the Institute of Historical Research; Birkbeck, University of London; and the University of Cambridge. . . . The project seeks to investigate the consequences of demographic and economic growth on the health, domestic arrangements and built environment of the inhabitants of the parishes of London's eastern suburbs, specifically St Botolph Aldgate and Holy Trinity Minories, between 1550 and 1700."

St Botolph without Aldgate church website - with sections on History and Family History.

Atkinson, Arthur G. B. St Botolph Aldgate: The Story of a City Parish. London: Grant Richards (1898) 238 pp.
topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Botolph without Aldgate - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Botolph Aldgate and St Botolph Aldgate London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Botolph without Aldgate, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Botolph without Aldgate parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.