Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Botolph without Bishopsgate

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Botolph without Bishopsgate

"ST. BOTOLPH, Bishopsgate, the church of, is situated on the west side of Bishopsgate-street Without, and nearly opposite the western end of Houndsditch. The ancient church of this name was of very ancient foundation, and received its name from the before-mentioned Anglo Saxon Saint, who died about the year 680. The first authentic account of this church is in 1323, when John de Northampton resigned the rectorship, which then was, and still is, in the gift of the Bishop of London. The old church which stood upon the bank of the ancient city ditch escaped the fire of London, but became so ruinous that it was taken down in 1726, and rebuilt firom the designs of the elder George Dance. It was finished in 1729, and is a spacious, substantial, and well built structure. The spire is peculiarly handsome, and with that of Shoreditch, by the same architect, among the best since the days of Wren. . . . The living is a rectory in the gift of the king and the Bishop of London, and the present incumbent is the Hon. and Rev. E. Grey, who was instituted by the King in 1828." [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish is located in Bishopsgate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St George Botolph Lane 1670, St Mary at Hill 1901.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Botolph without Bishopsgate.

topup

Biography

Biography of John Keats, bapt. St Botolph without Bishopsgate 1795, from PoemHunter.com .

topup
topup

Church History

Parish and Ward Church of St Botolph without Bishopsgate - website - provides history of the church, a list of rectors (1390-2007), and information about the associated livery companies.

Staples, Sir John. Notes on St. Botolph, without Aldersgate, London. [London] Printed by W.H. and L. Collingridge (1881) 69pp. [Full text]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Botolph without Bishopsgate are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Hallen, A. W. Cornelius. The registers of St. Botolph, Bishopsgate, London. Edinburgh, Printed by T. and A. Constable (1889-1895) 3 vols. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Botolph without Bishopsgate.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Botolph without Bishopsgate.

You can see pictures of St Botolph without Bishopsgate which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Botolph without Bishopsgate to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Botolph without Bishopsgate has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Botolph without Bishopsgate parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Botolph without Bishopsgate - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Military Records

Bishopsgate Parish Memorial - "an unusually early First World War memorial dating to 1916, thought to be the first freestanding memorial raised in London, commemorating both named war heroes and un-named local servicemen who had died in the first two years of the conflict". See also St Botolph Without Bishopsgate Church Cross WW1.

topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Botolph Bishopsgate district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Botolph without Bishopsgate, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Schools

Central Foundation Girls School - history and archive resources - "In 1697 a small Charity School for 20 boys was set up in the parish of St. Botolph's, London. It was to be financially supported by the churchgoers of the parish of St. Botolph without Bishopsgate."

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Botolph without Bishopsgate parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.