Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Dunstan in the East

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Dunstan in the East

"ST. DUNSTAN IN THE EAST, the church of, is situated between Idol-lane and St. Dunstan's-hill, Tower-street, the latter of which is carried from the south side of the lofty tower and spire of the church, southwards into Thames-street, opposite the eastern wing of the Custom-house. This church is dedicated to St. Dunstan, Archbishop of Canterbury, after whom it is called. . . . The ancient church was damaged by the great fire of 1666, and was shortly after repaired, but the elegant spire and tower were not finished till 1699. . . When Wren designed it, he had, no doubt, the steeples of the high church, Edinburgh, and of St Nicholas, Newcastle-upon-Tyne, in his mind's eye, but he has surpassed both in every essential quality of such a work. The body of the church, having been only repaired by Sir Christopher Wren, having fallen into decay, it was taken down and rebuilt in 1821, under the directions of Mr. David Laing, the architect of the Custom-house. . . It is a rectory, and one of the thirteen peculiars of the Archiepiscopal see of Canterbury. The present rector is the Rev. R. Hesketh, who was instituted by the archbishop in 1817." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 89 in the above map - is located in Tower Ward.
The church was rebuilt in 1817-21, gutted in 1941, only tower remaining.
The parish was later united with Allhallows Barking by the Tower 1960.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Dunstan in the East.

topup
topup

Church History

St. Dunstan in the East Gardens, from the Historic UK website.

Green oasis 2 – St. Dunstan's - a well-illustrated historical account.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Dunstan in the East parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Dunstan in the East [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Dunstan in the East.

You can see pictures of St Dunstan in the East which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Dunstan in the East to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Dunstan in the East has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Dunstan in the East parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

Ledfors, Jennifer. The London parish and church of St. Dunstan in the East, c.1450-1550, PhD Thesis, Royal Holloway, University of London (2012) [Full text].
Noble, T. C. Memorials of Temple Bar : with some account of Fleet Street, and the parishes of St. Dunstan and St. Bride, London: chiefly derived from ancient records and original sources. London : Diprose & Bateman, [1869] 140 pp. [Full text]
topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Dunstan in the East - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Dunstan In East and St Dunstan In East London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Dunstan in the East, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup
topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Dunstan in the East parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.