Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Dunstan in the West

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Dunstan in the West

"ST. DUNSTAN IN THE WEST, the church of, is situated on the north side of the west end of Fleet-street, where it has been long known as a grievous incumbrance to hackney and stage coachmen, drivers of omnibuses, and country females. But as it is about to be taken down, to the infinite regret of the city pickpockets, any description of it is unnecessary. It, however, unfortunately for the public, narrowly escaped destruction by the great fire of 1666, the flames having been stopped within three houses of its walls. It has been several times repaired, but it will, ere long, perhaps while these lines are being printed, be removed. It is a church of very ancient foundation, in the gift of the abbot and convent of Westminster, who in 1237 gave it to Henry III. towards the maintenance of the foundation of the house called the Rolls, for the reception of converted Jews. . . . The present vicar, is the Rev. Richard Lloyd, who was instituted by the Rev. C. Simeon, and the Society for Purchasing Livings, in 1805." [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish is located in Farringdon Without Ward.
The church was rebuilt by John Shaw and John Shaw jnr in 1831-3.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Dunstan in the West.

topup
topup

Church History

History section, St Dunstan in the West website.

Notes on Some of the Guild Churches, a paper by Sir Frederick Tidbury-Beer, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

An Historical Account of the Constitution of the Vestry of the Parish of St. Dunstan's in the West, London: Wherein are Discovered, the Secret Managements of Certain Select Parish Officers ... With an Appendix, Wherein Some Notice is Taken of the Mismanagement of the Assessors and Collectors of the Land Tax in the Aforesaid Parish ..., Printed for, and sold by John Morphew near Stationers-hall., (1714) 38pp. [Full text]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Dunstan in the West are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Bell, W.G.. 'Wardmote Inquest Registers of St Dunstan's in the West' London and Middlesex Archaeological Society Transactions n.s., 3 (1914-17), pp. 56-70.
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Dunstan in the West.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Dunstan in the West.

You can see pictures of St Dunstan in the West which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Dunstan in the West to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Dunstan in the West has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Dunstan in the West parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

St Dunstan In The West And An Honest Solicitor - lavishly illustrated account of the history of the church and parish, on alondoninheritance.com.

Epidemics and the Built Environment in 1665 - article in History in Focus by Justin Champion, that includes an exploration of the impact of the plague in the parish of St Dunstan in the West.

Fleet Street, a paper by Christopher Mitchell, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

Fleet Street: the Place and the Concept, a paper by Joyce C. Nash, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

Bell, W.G. Fleet Street in seven centuries: Being a History of the Growth of London Beyond the Walls Into the Western Liberty, and of Fleet Street to Our Time. London: Sir I. Pitman (1912) 710pp. [Full text]
Noble, T. C. Memorials of Temple Bar : with some account of Fleet Street, and the parishes of St. Dunstan and St. Bride, London: chiefly derived from ancient records and original sources. London : Diprose & Bateman, [1869] 140 pp. [Full text]
topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Dunstan in the West - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Dunstan In West and St Dunstan In West London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Dunstan in the West, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

A report on the parish workhouse is given in City of London Parish Workhouses.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Dunstan in the West parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.