Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Ethelburga

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Ethelburga

"ST. ETHELBURGA, The Church of, is situated on the eastern side of Bishopsgate-street, near to the corner of Little St. Helens. It derives its name from being dedicated to the memory of the first Christian princess of the Anglo-Saxon race, the daughter of Ethelbert, King of Kent, who, embracing the Christian religion, became the patron of St. Augustin, the English apostle. This church escaped the ravages of the great fire, in 1066, and is an irregular building in the andent English style. The advowson of this church, which is a rectory, was in the prioress and nuns of St. Helen, till the suppression of the religious houses, in 1539. It then came, to the crown, and was granted by Queen Elizabeth to the Bishop of London and his successors, with whom it still continues. It is in the city and archdeaconry of London, and its present rector is the Rev. William Parker, who was instituted by the Bishop of London, in 1807." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 16 in the above map - is located in Bishopsgate Ward.
The church was founded in 1250 and rebuilt in 1390, it was.
The church was destroyed in by terrorist bomb in 1993.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Ethelburga.

topup
topup

Church History

St Ethelburga - detailed account of its history, through to its reconstruction following an IRA bomb explosion in 1993, and reopening in 2002 as a centre for peace and reconciliation - from the Medieval London website.

St Ethelburga-the-Virgin within Bishopsgate - extract from The London Encyclopaedia, by Christopher Hibbert, Ben Weinreb, Julia Keay (2010). - a good summary history (on p.755).

St Ethelburga's Centre for Reconciliation and Peace - History page.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Ethelburga parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Ethelburga [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Ethelburga.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Ethelburga.

You can see pictures of St Ethelburga which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Ethelburga to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Ethelburga has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Ethelburga parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Ethelburga - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Ethelburga London district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Ethelburga, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Ethelburga parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.