Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Gabriel Fenchurch-street

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Gabriel Fenchurch-street

The PARISH of St. GABRIEL FENCHURCH, But corruptly, FANCHURCH. In the LONDON Register it was recorded by the Name of St. Mary Fenchurch, till the year 1517, afterwards by that of All Saints Fenchurch, and St. Gabriel Fenchurch, from which it may be conjectured, that it was dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary, to the Holy Angel Gabriel, and to all Saints. This Church was enlarged in length nine Feet, richly and very worthily beautified at the proper Cost and Charges of the Parish, in the years 1631 and 1632, amounting to 537l. 7s. 10d. . . This Church suffered the fate of a great many others in the late general Conflagration of this City; upon the new Building whereof, it was, by Act of Parliament, totally demolished, and the Site thereof lain into the Street, but yet united and annexed to the Parish-Church od St. Mary Pattens. [John Stow, John Mottley. A survey of the cities of London and Westminster . . . (1733-35) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 56 in the above map - is located in Langbourn Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Margaret Pattens 1670.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Gabriel Fenchurch-street.

topup

Biography

John Wallis - "an English mathematician who is given partial credit for the development of modern calculus . . . Wallis was elected to a fellowship at Queens' College, Cambridge in 1644, which he however had to resign following his marriage on March 14, 1645 to Susanna Glyde. . . Returning to London - he had been made chaplain at St Gabriel, Fenchurch Street, in 1643 - Wallis joined the group of scientists that was later to evolve into the Royal Society.", from the New World Encyclopedia.

topup
topup

Church History

St Gabriel Fenchurch Street churchyard - description and photographs.

St Gabriel Fenchurch, by Simon Kontt - description and photographs of the churchyard.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Gabriel Fenchurch-street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Margaret Pattens with St Gabriel Fenchurch [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Gabriel Fenchurch-street.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Gabriel Fenchurch-street.

You can see pictures of St Gabriel Fenchurch-street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Gabriel Fenchurch-street to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Gabriel Fenchurch-street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Gabriel Fenchurch-street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

82/86 Fenchurch Street - The story of a gift, a paper by Richard Saunders, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Gabriel Fenchurch-street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Gabriel Fenchurch district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Gabriel Fenchurch-street and (ii) St Margaret Pattens With St Gabriel Fenchurch, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Gabriel Fenchurch-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.