Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St George Botolph-lane

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St George Botolph-lane

"ST. GEORGE'S CHURCH, Botolph-lane, the church of, is situated a few houses on the right from Little Eastcheap. It derives its name from the ancient English Saint George of Cappadocia. It is an ancient rectory, Robert de Haliwell being rector in 1321, and was originally in the gift of the Abbott and Convent of St. Saviour, Bermondsey, at whose dissolution it came to the crown. The old church was burned down in 1666, and the present edifice erected in 1674, by Sir Christopher Wren. . . . It is fifty-four feet in length, thirty-six in breadth, and thirty-six in height. After the fire, the parish of St. Botolph, Billingsgate (see that church), was united by act of parliament to this parish. That parish was also a rectory, the advowson of which was anciently in lay hands, but in 1194 was suc- cessfully claimed by the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's, under a deed of gift from Odgarus. It continued with them till its union with St. George, when the patronage was exerted by them and the crown, alternately. It is in the city and archdeaconry of London, and the present rector is the Rev. Charles Champness, a Minor Canon of Windsor, who was instituted by the King in 1825." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 93 in the above map - is located in Billingsgate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, demolished 1901-4.
The parish was later united with St Mary at Hill 1901.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St George Botolph-lane.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St George Botolph-lane parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St George Botolph-Lane with St Botolph Billingsgate [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St George Botolph-lane.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St George Botolph-lane.

You can see pictures of St George Botolph-lane which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St George Botolph-lane to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St George Botolph-lane has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St George Botolph-lane parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St George Botolph-lane - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St George Botolph Lane district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St George Botolph-lane and (ii) St George Botolph-Lane With St Botolph Billingsgate, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St George Botolph-lane parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.