Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Giles without Cripplegate

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Giles without Cripplegate

"ST. GILES, CRIPPLEGATE, the church of, is situated without the walls of London and at the south-west corner of Fore-street, nearly opposite the ends of Redcross-street and Whitecross-street. It derives its name from having been dedicated to a saint of that name, who was a native of Athens and flourished about the year 700 of the Christian era, who was abbot of Nismes, in France, and its addition from its situation. This church was built and founded about the year 1090, by Alfune, the first master of St. Bartholomew's Hospital, and was destroyed by fire in 1545. The present structure was then erected, which is one of the few churches in the city that escaped the great fire of 1666. . . . The site of this parish was anciently a fen or moor, and its houses and gardens were accounted a village without the wall of London called Mora, whence the district called the Moor and Moorfields. . . . In this church are deposited the mortal remains of many eminent authors; among which are, Speed, the historian and topographer; Fox, the author of the Book of Martyrs; Glover, the antiquary; and, above all, Milton, the author of Paradise Lost. . . The church is a vicarage, in the city and archdeaconry of London, and the present vicar is the Rev. William Holmes, Sub-Dean of the Chapel Royal, and Priest in Ordinary to the King, a Minor Canon of St Paul's, and Rector of Aveley, in Essex, who was instituted in 1802." [J. Elmes, A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish is located in Cripplegate Ward.
The church was damaged in WWII, rebuilt in 1953-63.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Giles without Cripplegate.

topup

Biography

St Giles' Church website - provides brief biographies of famous local residents and people connected with St Giles', including John Bunyan, Oliver Cromwell, Daniel Defoe, Sir Humphrey Gilbert, Ben Jonson, John Milton, Sir Thomas More and John Speed.

topup
topup

Church History

Baddeley, John James. An account of the church and parish of St. Giles, without Cripplegate, in the city of London. Compiled from various old authorities, including the churchwardens' accounts, and the vestry minute books of the parish. London. J.J. Baddeley (1888) 220 pp. [Full text]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Giles without Cripplegate are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for All Hallows Barking by the LDS.

Denton, Rev. W. Records of St. Giles' Cripplegate. London, G. Bell & Sons (1883) 205p. [Full Text] ["Articles originally contributed to a local newspaper."]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Giles without Cripplegate.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Giles without Cripplegate.

You can see pictures of St Giles without Cripplegate which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Giles without Cripplegate to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Giles without Cripplegate has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

St Giles' Church website - has an extensive history section.

Summary history of St Giles without Cripplegate parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

The Evolution of the Barbican, a paper by Eric F Wilkins, to the Guildhall Historical Association.

Miller, William. London before the fire of 1666; with an historical account of the parish, the ward and the church of St. Giles without Cripplegate, brought down to the present time. London J. H. Woodley, (1867) 92 pp. [Full text]
topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Giles without Cripplegate - "information from census records, trade directories, etc.".

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Giles Cripplegate district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Giles without Cripplegate, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

Reports on the parish's two workhouses are given in City of London Parish Workhouses.

The History of All the Charities, Donations, Gifts, &c. &c. Belonging to the Parish of St. Giles Without Cripplegate. Charity Commission (1830) 160 pp. [Full text]
topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Giles without Cripplegate parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.