Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Gregory by St Paul

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Gregory by St Paul

"St. Gregrory by St. Paul's was situated on the south side of St. Paul's, near the west end, in the ward of Castle Baynard. The date of its foundation is not known, but it is said that the body of Edmund, King of the East Angles, who was put to death by the Danes in 870, rested here for three years. It was burnt down by the Great Fire and not rebuilt, its parish being annexed to that of St. Mary Magdalene, Old Fish Street. The earliest date of an incumbent is 1181. It was a Rectory in the gift of the Prebendary of St. Pancras and formed part of the manor of that prebendary. It was appropriated in 1445 to the minor canons of St. Paul's, and so continued until the church was annexed to St. Mary Magdalene, Old Fish Street, in 1666." [Sir Walter Besant. The Survey of London (1903) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 31 in the above map - is located in Castle Baynard Ward.
The church was rebuilt in 1641-50, destroyed 1666?,.
The parish was later united with St Mary Magdalen Old Fish Street 1670, St Martin Ludgate 1890.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Gregory by St Paul.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Gregory by St Paul parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street with St Gregory by St Paul include: Presbyterian and Unitarian [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Gregory by St Paul.

You can see pictures of St Gregory by St Paul which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Gregory by St Paul to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Gregory by St Paul has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Gregory by St Paul parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Gregory by St Paul - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Gregory By St Paul district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Gregory by St Paul and (ii) St Mary Magdalene Old Fish Street With St Gregory By St Paul, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Gregory by St Paul parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.