Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St James Dukes-place

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St James Dukes-place

"ST. JAMES, Duke's-place, the church of, is situated in that part of Duke's-place called the square, and nearly opposite the great Synagogue of the German Jews. Duke's-place is a district covered with lanes and alleys, on a site of part of the once splendid and wealthy priory of the Holy Trinity, founded in 1108, by Matilda, queen of Henry I. Being the richest in England, it was the first that was seized upon by Henry VIII., in 1531, at the period of the dissolution of the religious houses. . . The inhabitants of Duke's-place, wishing to have a parish church to themselves, within their own precinct, applied to the Archbishop of Canterbury, who procured the King's warrant, and prevailed upon the lord mayor, aldermen and common-council, to build them a church with the materials of the conventual church, which then remained upon the premises. This was accordingly done, and the church was consecrated and dedicated to St. James, in honour of the reigning king, James I., on the 2d of January 1622. Although the parish is in in the ward of Aldgate, it is a precinct within itself, under a minister, two constables, two headboroughs and fifteen jurymen. Duke's-place is now principally inhabited by Jews who settled therein in the time of Oliver Cromwell. The church having escaped the fire in 1666, still retains its original form, but the body was rebuilt in 1727. It ia a perpetual curacy, in the city and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the lord mayor and commonalty of Lcodon, who instituted the preset incumbent, the Rev. Richard Povah, D.C.L., in 1823." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 54 in the above map - is located in Aldgate Ward.
The church was rebuilt post-Wren, demolished 1874.
The parish was later united with St Katherine Cree 1873.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St James Dukes-place.

topup
topup

Church History

The Great Synagogue, also known as the Dukes Place Synagogue; historical summary - from the JCR-UK website.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St James Dukes-place parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Phillimore, W. P. W. , Cokayne, George E.(eds.) London parish registers. Marriages at St. James's, Duke's Place, from 1668 to 1837. London: Issued to the subscribers by Phillimore & Co. (1900-1902) 4 vols. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St James Dukes-place.

You can see pictures of St James Dukes-place which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St James Dukes-place to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St James Dukes-place has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St James Dukes-place parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St James Dukes-place - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St James Dukes-place district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St James Dukes-place, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St James Dukes-place parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.