Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St James Garlick-Hythe

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St James Garlick-Hythe

"ST. JAMES'S, Garlickhithe, the church of, is situated at the corner of Garlick-hill and Maiden-lane, Upper Thames-treet, and derives its name from being dedicated to St. James the Apostle, and its addition from its ancient vicinity to the Garlick market of the city. The earliest mention of this church is, that it was rebuilt by Richard de Rothin, sheriff, in 1326. The ancient church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, the foundation of the present building was laid in 1676, and the church finished in 1682. It is built of stone, is seventy-five feet in length, forty-five feet in breadth, and forty feet in height to the ceiling. . . This church is a rectory, the patronage of which appears to have been in the abbot and convent of Westminster, till the suppression of their monastery by Henry VIII., when coming to the crown, it was granted by Queen Mary to the Bishop of London and his successors, in whom it still remains. It is in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the Bishop of that see. Its present rector is the Rev. Charles Goddard, D.D., Archdeacon and Prebendary of Lincoln, Chaplain in Ordinary to His Majesty, Vicar of Bexley, in Kent, and of Louth, in Lincolnshire, who was instituted by the Bishop of London in 1821." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 77 in the above map - is located in Vintry Ward.
The church was built by Wren in 1676-82.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St James Garlick-Hythe.

topup
topup

Church History

History of St James Garlickhythe, from the Church's website.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St James Garlick-Hythe parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St James Garlickhithe [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St James Garlick-Hythe.

You can see pictures of St James Garlick-Hythe which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St James Garlick-Hythe to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Genealogy

The last will and testament of Robert Chichele from the Medieval English Towns website.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St James Garlick-Hythe has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St James Garlick-Hythe parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St James Garlick-Hythe - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St James Garlick-hythe district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St James Garlick-Hythe, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St James Garlick-Hythe parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.