Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St John Zachary

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St John Zachary

"The parish of St. John Zachary, annexed to the parish of St. Anne and St. Agnes, Aldersgate, was deprived of its church by the fire of London, and has not been rebuilt. The church was originally dedicated to St. John the Baptist, and bestowed on a person named Zachary, which name was subsequently added to it. It was a rectory, and the site of the church at the north-west corner of Maiden-lane, is now the cemetery for the parish. There are some few remains of the old east wall of the church, and a tablet bearing date 1661. Here was interred the body of alderman John Sutton, who was killed on London bridge, in the skirmish between the rebels, headed by Jack Cade, and the citizens of London." [Henry Thomas. The Wards of London (1828) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 6 in the above map - is located in Aldersgate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Anne and St Agnes 1670, St Vedast Foster lane 1954.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St John Zachary.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St John Zachary area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

St Zachary, St Alban and Blowbladder Street - illustrated description.

McMurray, William. The records of two city parishes; a collection of documents illustrative of the history of SS. Anne and Agnes, Aldersgate, and St. John Zachary, London, from the twelfth century. London, Hunter & Longhurst, (1925) 500pp.
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St John Zachary parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Ann and St Agnes with St John Zachary include: French Protestant, Presbyterian, Sandemanian, Society of Friends/Quaker, and Wesleyan Methodist [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St John Zachary.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St John Zachary.

You can see pictures of St John Zachary which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St John Zachary to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St John Zachary has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St John Zachary parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

Herbert, William. Illustrations of the site and neighbourhood of the new post office, comprehending antiquarian notices of St. Martin's-le-Grand, and its liberty, and the adjoining parishes of St. Anne, St. Agnes, and St. John, Zachary, with an appendix, containing an account of the antient Mourning Bush Tavern, & c. Aldersgate. And various London taverns, its contemporaries. London, Smales and Tuck, (1830) 75 pp. [Full text]
topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St John Zachary - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St John Zachary district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St John Zachary and (ii) St Ann And St Agnes With St John Zachary, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St John Zachary parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.