Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St John the Baptist Walbrook

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St John the Baptist Walbrook

"ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST, the church of, was situated, before the fire of London, at the corner of Dowgate-hill and Cloak-lane; but after that calamity it was united to the adjoining parish of St. Anthony." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 66 in the above map - is located in Walbrook Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt, just a small portion of churchyard remains.
The parish was later united with St Antholin Budge Row 1670, and St Mary Aldermary in 1873.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St John the Baptist Walbrook.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St John the Baptist Walbrook parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Antholin with St John the Baptist upon Wallbrook [LDS FamilySearch Wiki]. 1660)

Chester, J.L. and Armytage, G.J. The parish registers of St. Antholin, Budge Row, London, containing the marriages, baptisms, and burials from 1538 to 1754, and of St. John Baptist on Wallbrook, London containing the Baptisms and Burials from 1682-1754. London (1883) 282 pp. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St John the Baptist Walbrook.

You can see pictures of St John the Baptist Walbrook which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St John the Baptist Walbrook to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St John the Baptist Walbrook has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St John the Baptist Walbrook parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St John the Baptist Walbrook - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St John Baptist and St John Baptist Walbrook districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St John the Baptist Walbrook and (ii) St Antholin With St John The Baptist Upon Walbrook, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St John the Baptist Walbrook parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.