Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Katherine Coleman

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Katherine Coleman

"ST. CATHERINE, or KATHERINE, COLEMAN, the church of, is situated on the east side of Church-row, on the south side of Fenchurch-street, about ten houses eastward of Mark-lane, with which it also communicates. It derives its name and addition from being dedicated to St. Katherine, a virgin and martyr of Alexandria, and from being situated on a spot anciently called Coleman Haw. It is a very ancient rectory, as there are records of its being so in 1346. The old church was substantially repaired, and a south aisle added in 1489, by Sir William White, then Lord Mayor of London. It escaped the great fire of 1666; but being very much out of repair, and much buried by the raising of the causeway in Fenchurch-street, it was pulled down in 1734, and the present church erected at the expense of the parish. It is a plain, well-built church, with a lofty nave, lighted with two rows of windows. . . . This church was originally in the patronage of the Dean of St. Martin's-le- Grand, and so continued till that religious house, with all its appurtenances, was annexed to the Abbey of Westminster, after which it fell to the ground, and the advowson was given by Queen Mary, in the first year of her reign, to the Bishop of London and his successors in that see for ever. The advowson is still under the same patronage, and the present rector is the Rev. Thomas Horne, who was instituted in 1812." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 55 in the above map - is located in Aldgate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt in 1738-41, demolished 1926.
The parish was later united with St Olave Hart Street 1921.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Katherine Coleman.

topup
topup

Church History

Wellard, Tom. History of the united benefice of St. Olave Hart Street and All Hallows Staining with St. Catherine Coleman Typewritten (1966?) 277pp. [Guildhall Library]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Katherine Coleman parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Jewish is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Katherine Coleman.

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Katherine Coleman.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Katherine Coleman.

You can see pictures of St Katherine Coleman which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Katherine Coleman to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Katherine Coleman has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Katherine Coleman parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Katherine Coleman - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Katherine Coleman district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Katherine Coleman, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Katherine Coleman parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.