Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Katherine Cree-Church

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Katherine Cree-Church

"ST. CATHERINE, or KATHERINE CREE, the church of, is situated at the south-east angle of Cree church-lane, in Leadenhall-street. [It is] distinguished from other churches of the same name by the addition of Cree, the ancient English method of spelling Christ, as pronounced by the French, having been built on the site of a dissolved priory, whose church was called that of our Saviour Christ. . . The present structure was erected in 1630, it is built of stone in a mixed and impure style. The length of the body is ninety feet, the breadth fifty-one, and the height thirty-seven. Maitland . . . says that the church is a curacy, and that the parishioners have the privilege of electing their own minister, who must be licensed by the Bishop of London. But the Clerical Guide, which must be of authority, says that it is a vicarage, and still in the gift of the Master and Fellows of Magdalene College, Cambridge, who instituted the Rev. George Hodson in 1814." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 53 in the above map - is located in Aldgate Ward.
The church dates from before the Great Fire.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Katherine Cree-Church.

topup
topup

Church History

St Katherine Cree - from te Lost City of London blog.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Katherine Cree-Church parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Non-Church of England denominations identified in St Katherine Cree include: Independent/Congregational, Jewish, and Presbyterian [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Katherine Cree-Church.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Katherine Cree-Church.

You can see pictures of St Katherine Cree-Church which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Katherine Cree-Church to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Katherine Cree-Church has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Katherine Cree-Church parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Katherine Cree-Church - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Katherine Cree-church district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Katherine Cree-Church, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Katherine Cree-Church parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.