Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Martin Ludgate

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Martin Ludgate

"ST. MARTIN LUDGATE, the church of, is situated on the north side of Ludgate-street, between Stationers'-hall-oourt and the Old Bailey. It is so named from being dedicated to the before-mentioned St. Martin, and its contiguity to the ancient Ludgate. The patronage of this church was originally in the abbot and convent of Westminster, and continued with them till the suppression of that monastery by Henry VIII., who erected Westminster into a Bishoprick and conferred it on the new bishop. That see, however, being dissolved by Edward VI., Queen Mary his successor granted the advowson to the Bishop of London and his successors, in whom it still remains. The ancient church was destroyed by the great fire in 1666, after which the present church was erected, from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren. It is a rectory in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the Bishop of London. The present rector is the Rev. J. B. Bingham, Vicar of Great Gaddesden, who was instituted in 1819." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 2 in the above map - is located in Farringdon Within Ward.
The church dates from before the Great Fire, and was rebuilt by Wren 1677-87.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Martin Ludgate.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Martin Ludgate area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Malcolm, James Peller. St Martin Ludgate. In Londinium Redivivum Or an Antient History and Modern Description of London. Nichols and Son (1807) Vol. 4 pp.355-376. [Full text]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Martin Ludgate parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Martin Ludgate [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Martin Ludgate.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Martin Ludgate.

You can see pictures of St Martin Ludgate which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Martin Ludgate to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Martin Ludgate has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Martin Ludgate parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Martin Ludgate - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the  St Martin Ludgate and St Martin Ludgate London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Martin Ludgate, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Martin Ludgate parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.