Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Martin Orgars

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Martin Orgars

"ST. MARTIN ORGARS, the church of, is situated on the east side of St. Martin's-lane, Cannon-street, and was so named from its dedication to St. Martin, and Ordgarus, its founder or patron. The ancient church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and not being rebuilt, the parish was united to that of St. Clement, Eastcheap, by act of parliament." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 84 in the above map - is located in Candlewick Ward.
The church was damaged in 1666 and demolished in 1820, only the tower rebuilt in 1851.
The parish was later united with St Clement Eastcheap 1670.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Martin Orgars.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Martin Orgars area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

Beeman, George. B. Notes on the Sites and History of the French Churches in London: L'Eglise de St. Martin Orgars. Proceedings of the Huguenot Society of London Vol. 8, No. 1 (1905) pp.31-33. [ Full text]
Jeffrey, Paul. The Later History of St Martin Outwich, City of London, The London Journal - A Review of Metropolitan Society Past and Present Vol. 14, No. 2 (1989) pp. 160-169. [Abstract ]
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Martin Orgars parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

French Protestant is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Clement Eastcheap with St Martin Orgar [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Register of the Church of St Martin Orgars with its history and that of the Swallow Street Church [1698-1762] Quarto Series of the Huguenot Society, Vol. 37. [CDRom]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Martin Orgars.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Martin Orgars.

You can see pictures of St Martin Orgars which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Martin Orgars to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Martin Orgars has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Martin Orgars parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Martin Orgars - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the S t Martin Orgars and St Martin Orgars London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Martin Orgars and (ii) St Clement Eastcheap With St Martin Orgar, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Martin Orgars parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.