Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Mary Abchurch

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Mary Abchurch

"ST. MARY ABCHURCH, the church of, is situated near the south end of Abchurch-lane, Cannon-street, and derives its name and addition, from having been dedicated to the Virgin Mary, and Ab or Up church, from its greater elevation than most of its neighbourhood. . . The ancient church was destroyed by the great fire in 1666, and the present edifice erected shortly afterwards by Sir Christmher Wren. The parish of St. Lawrence Pountney was united to this parish after the fire, and the church of that small parish was consequently not rebuilt. The church is a rectory, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. The present rector is the Rev. J. W. Bellamy. Vicar of Sellinge, and headmaster of Merchant Tabors' SchooL" [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 63 in the above map - is located in Candlewick Ward.
The church dates from before the Great Fire, and was rebuilt by Wren 1681-87.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Mary Abchurch.

topup

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the St Mary Abchurch area or see them printed on a map.

topup

Church History

St. Mary Abchurch and Grinling Gibbons, from the A London Inheritance website; a detailed well-illustrated description of the church.

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Mary Abchurch parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Mary Abchurch with St Lawrence Pountney [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Mary Abchurch.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Mary Abchurch.

You can see pictures of St Mary Abchurch which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Mary Abchurch to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Mary Abchurch has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Mary Abchurch parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Mary Abchurch - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the S t Mary Abchurch and St Mary Abchurch London districts.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Mary Abchurch and (ii) St Mary Abchurch With St Lawrence Pounteny, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Mary Abchurch parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.