Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Mary Aldermanbury

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Mary Aldermanbury

"ST. MARY, Aldermanbury, the church of, is situated on the west side of the street so called, between Love-lane and Addle-street, Wood-street, Cheapside. It derives its name from its dedication to the Virgin Mary, and its addition from its situation. This church is of very ancient date, as appears from a sepulchral inscription, recorded to have been in the old church, bearing the date of 1116. The patronage was formerly in the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul's. . . After the dissolution of the religious houses, the patronage was granted to the parishioners, who have ever since enjoyed the right of presentation. It is a curacy, in the city, diocese and archdeaconry of London, and in the patronage of the parishioners. The present incumbent is the Rev. James T. Salisbury, who was instituted in 1828." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 11 in the above map - is located in Cripplegate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666, rebuilt by Wren, destroyed 1940, the site sold, and the stones sent to the USA.
The parish was later united with St Alphage London Wall 1917, St Giles Cripplegate 1954.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Mary Aldermanbury.

topup
topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Mary Aldermanbury parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Independent/Congregational is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Mary Aldermanbury [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Mary Aldermanbury.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Mary Aldermanbury.

You can see pictures of St Mary Aldermanbury which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Mary Aldermanbury to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Mary Aldermanbury has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Mary Aldermanbury parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Mary Aldermanbury - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Mary Aldermanbury district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of St Mary Aldermanbury, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Mary Aldermanbury parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.