Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Mary Aldermary

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Mary Aldermary

"ST. MARY ALDERMARY, the church of, is situated near the middle, and on the east side of Bow-lane, Cheapside, and derives its name from being dedicated to the Virgin Mary, and its addition of Alder, to Older or Elder Mary, from its being the oldest church in the city, dedicated to that saint. . . . The body of the church was destroyed by the great fire of 1666, and was rebuilt, and the tower repaired and cased, by Sir Christopher Wren, in 1711. . . The style is an impure imitation of the pointed style, (which was never understood or relished by our great national architect,) with the absurd addition of a composite altar-piece. . . The church is a rectory, and one of the thirteen peculiars of the Archbishop of Canterbury. After the fire of London, the adjoining parish of St. Thomas the Apostle, was united to it by act of parliament; the patronage of which being in the Dean and Chapter of St. Paul, that of the united parishes is with the Archbishop and Dean alternately. It is a rectory, in the city of London, and in the province of Canterbury. The present rector is the Rev. H. B. Wilson, B.D., formerly one of the masters of Merchant Taylors' school." [James Elmes. A Topographical Dictionary of London and its Environs (1831) - transcribed by Brian Randell]

This parish - no. 68 in the above map - is located in Cordwainer Ward.
The church dates from before the Great Fire, and was rebuilt by Wren 1682, tower 1701.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Mary Aldermary.

topup
topup

Church History

St Mary Aldermary - a site "dedicated to the history and architecture of St. Mary Aldermary in London".

topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Mary Aldermary parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

Presbyterian is the only identified non-Church of England denomination in St Mary Aldermary with St Thomas the Apostle [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

Chester, Joseph Lemuel (ed). The parish registers of St. Mary Aldermary, London, containing the marriages, baptisms, and burials from 1558 to 1754. Harleian Society, Vol. 5. London (1880) 300pp. [Full text]
topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Mary Aldermary.

World Heritage Encycyclopedia page on St Mary Aldermary.

You can see pictures of St Mary Aldermary which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Mary Aldermary to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Mary Aldermary has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Mary Aldermary parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

Cordwainer - well-illustrated historical account of the Cordwainer statue from the London Details website ("A statue of a cordwainer can be found in Watling Street at the Queen Victoria Street end, beside the wall of St. Mary Aldermary Church.).

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Mary Aldermary - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the  St Mary Aldermary and St Mary Aldermary London districts.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Mary Aldermary parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.