Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted
Page 1 of 4

Help and advice for St Mary Magdalen Milk-street

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it. We have a number of people each maintaining different sections of the web site, so it is important to submit information via a link on the relevant page otherwise it is likely to go to the wrong person and may not be acted upon.

St Mary Magdalen Milk-street

"St. Mary Magdalen, Milk Street, was . . . destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666 and not rebuilt. The church stood on the east side of Milk Street, north of its end in Cheapside, in Cripplegate Ward Within (parts of the parish were also in Bread Street Ward). John Stow, in his Survey of 1603, described Milk Street as having many fair houses for wealthy merchants and others. He attributed the origin of street's name to it being a place where milk was sold. . . The parish was a Presbyterian stronghold in the years leading up to the Civil War. . . The church was destroyed in the Great Fire of London in 1666 and not rebuilt, Instead the parish was united to that of St Lawrence Jewry, and the site, together with that of the adjoining church of All Hallows Honey Lane and several houses, was acquired by the City, cleared, and laid out as a market-place, called Honey Lane Market." [Wikipedia, 26 Sep 2016]

This parish - no. 41 in the above map - is located in Cripplegate Ward.
The church was destroyed in 1666 and not rebuilt.
The parish was later united with St Lawrence Jewry 1670.

topup

Archives and Libraries

London Metropolitan Archive holdings for St Mary Magdalen Milk-street.

topup
topup

Church Records

Online Parish Register Images and Indexes for St Mary Magdalen Milk-street parish are provided by, or at various subscription sites via, the LDS FamilySearch wiki.

No non-Church of England denominations have been identified for St Lawrence Jewry with St Mary Magdalene Milk Street [LDS FamilySearch Wiki].

topup

Description and Travel

Wikipedia page on St Mary Magdalen Milk-street.

You can see pictures of St Mary Magdalen Milk-street which are provided by:

topup

Gazetteers

Ask for a calculation of the distance from St Mary Magdalen Milk-street to another place.

Click here for a list of nearby places.

topup

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which St Mary Magdalen Milk-street has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

topup

History

Summary history of St Mary Magdalen Milk-street parish, from the Worshipful Company of Parish Clerks.

topup

Land and Property

Public Houses, Inns & Taverns of the parish of St Mary Magdalen Milk-street - provides "information from census records, trade directories, etc."

topup
topup

Names, Personal

Surnames from the 1881 census in the St Mary Magdalen Milk-street district.

topup

Occupations

Clerical career summaries for the parish of (i) St Mary Magdalen Milk-street and (ii) St Lawrence Jewry With St Mary Magdalene Milk Street, from the Clergy of the Church of England Database website.

topup

Taxation

Sources for listings of taxpayer names for St Mary Magdalen Milk-street parish, listed on the LDS FamilySearch wiki.